We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here ironically during the same weekend the Antique Roadshow was in town, so the hotel was packed with attendees for that event. The rooms have been nicely upgraded, except for the bathrooms. There is no fan in the bathroom to avoid fogging up the mirror, and the hairdryers are some of the smallest, least powerful I have encountered. The hotel is motorcycle friendly - they let us park our bikes under the covered entryway instead of in an uncovered parking spot. The front desk staff at night is friendly, as well as the morning breakfast crew. The breakfast is standard Hampton Inn (waffle maker, eggs, cereal, bagels, etc.) and there is no evening happy hour. The location is central to the major highways and the river. There aren't any nearby restaurants (within walking distance) that are open past 10pm so if you arrive late your only option is pizza delivery (which was not very good). Be sure to ask for a room that isn't facing the highway since you hear highway noise all night long no matter where you are, but at least if you're facing away from it the sound will be somewhat minimized.

Room Tip: As noted above, ask for a room away from the highway as there is constant traffic even into the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Found the help VERY friendly and anxious to please guests. Shuttle service excellent. Breakfast could use some meats with the eggs. TV could use some movie channels. Over all this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Attended US Marine Corps League national convention. This property was located close to host hotel and provided excellent shuttle service to the host hotel. The room was adequate, but was a little small compared to some Hampton Inn rooms. The room was clean and well furnished. However, it did not have a refrigerator, which would have been helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank SMOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice place and have stayed many times over the years but problem after problem this time... reservation wrong, sewage smell in room, door lock broken, breakfast problems with broken equipment and a staff that could not wait to shut it down. Will go here again but expect these problems fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As usual, this Hampton Inn did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and the accommodations excellent as usual. I love Hampton's breakfast, especially the sausage. As far as the room goes, the pillows are nice, nice, nice, and I am so glad we have the modern TV's now.

Room Tip: I like lower level rooms near the swimming pool, but that's just a personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldlawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We really liked the hotel. Clean' quiet and a great breakfast. Staff was very helpful. The zero button on our phone did not work. The y took care of that and we resolved a credit card issue very quickly. There was no wait, as there is at other nice hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Business travel can is often an adventure. One does not want an adventure with respect to lodging. As with almost every Hilton property, the property does what I want and need in business travel accommodations. Uneventful, simple, straightforward provision of services. Easy check in, easy check out, clean comfortable rooms, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £80 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing