We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my needs. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Met my needs. ”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I was staying here for work and it's clean and also has free breakfast in the morning. It's a small Continental style but it did the trick of filling you up. I also was able to get cookies in the evening after work. I really like to eat.

Very friendly staff which is very important to me. They even brought me extra hangers when I needed them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    175
    83
    33
    18
See reviews for
166
147
43
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The people who work here were friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and seem clean. This hotel was about 5 - 10 mins from the nightlife. It's a quiet area. The cab company in town in pretty inexpensive so you can go anywhere. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchellville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose the Hampton because it was within walking distance of the Charleston Civic Center. The staff was very friendly and room was a good value for all the amenities. Good products, comfy bed - but skip getting the foldout couch for an adult. Coffee and popcorn available in the lobby, breakfast food was great, seating limited for the big group there when we were. Parking was difficult coming in later at night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
state college
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I found this hotel to be very clean and orderly. My room, King suite was very nice. The refrigerator kept everything cold. The TV and remote worked fine. I loved the desk area, it was great for charging all of the electronics. One side of the bed had electrical outlets and USB ports but the other side didn't. It would have been nice to have them on both sides since we both had phones and computers to use while we were lying on bed watching TV. The breakfast was good and hearty. On Sunday we couldn't have used a better protein than sausage gravy. Bacon, sausage or ham would have been nice. Every afternoon they have fresh popcorn in the lobby. I LOVED that. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked very clean. The exercise room was very neat and comfortable. When we came back late one night we did have trouble finding a place to park. It was in walking distance to a mall and a few dining places. We walked to the Civic Center for an event with no problems. The digital thermostat on the wall was great, it was so much easier to control the temperature in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of the hotel are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroled2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I like staying at Hampton Inns because the facilities are always clean and the staff is friendly. I love the breakfast bar which allows me to have a meal without having to dine out. I have chosen Hampton Inn for other family members when they are traveling or visiting me in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here ironically during the same weekend the Antique Roadshow was in town, so the hotel was packed with attendees for that event. The rooms have been nicely upgraded, except for the bathrooms. There is no fan in the bathroom to avoid fogging up the mirror, and the hairdryers are some of the smallest, least powerful I have encountered. The hotel is motorcycle friendly - they let us park our bikes under the covered entryway instead of in an uncovered parking spot. The front desk staff at night is friendly, as well as the morning breakfast crew. The breakfast is standard Hampton Inn (waffle maker, eggs, cereal, bagels, etc.) and there is no evening happy hour. The location is central to the major highways and the river. There aren't any nearby restaurants (within walking distance) that are open past 10pm so if you arrive late your only option is pizza delivery (which was not very good). Be sure to ask for a room that isn't facing the highway since you hear highway noise all night long no matter where you are, but at least if you're facing away from it the sound will be somewhat minimized.

Room Tip: As noted above, ask for a room away from the highway as there is constant traffic even into the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Found the help VERY friendly and anxious to please guests. Shuttle service excellent. Breakfast could use some meats with the eggs. TV could use some movie channels. Over all this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing