We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times before as a date night or outing with the kids to swim. We live about 30 minutes from there however when we went to check in they said "we can not will not rent a room to persons who live within 75 miles" of the hotel!! They were nearly empty had plenty of rooms! The front desk staff was not accommodating at all ! We went and stayed at Marriott downtown which was great! Their breakfast is second to none and much better than Hamptons warmed microwaved food and cereal! Even if they would rent to us we wouldn't return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVdisneyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    166
    48
    19
    8
See reviews for
237
149
28
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been making quite a few trips back and forth between Maryland and Missouri since April of 2013 and have been staying at this Hampton Inn because of it's location. We have found that this particular Hampton Inn is in need of some serious updating. The bathroom fixtures are tired and in need of replacing. The refrigerator door would not stay closed; however, it was repaired when we brought it to the attention of the desk. The breakfast was terrible. One waffle maker was not working, one toaster was not working, the fruit bowl was empty and there was no butter. After eating my bagel I went back, hoping the fruit had been filled but it had not. I finally found the guy responsible and told him. He quickly filled it. The counter was also in serious need of being cleaned where people had spilled waffle mix. Better service is definitely needed at the breakfast bar. If we stay here again we will definitely walk over to Panera Bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Jeanne B, I want to thank you for the review, and I want to apologize for the service issues you experienced while you were here. These issues will be addressed and should not occur again in the future. We appreciate the continued stays you have made over the last few months and would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed two times two weeks apart with different experiences. Biggest pluses: this is the only hotel in the area with bathtubs you can actually lie down in and not break your neck from the sharp angle geared for people taking showers. (Beware you have to ask for a room with a tub because some only have showers.) First stay in a room on 3rd floor had urine-smelling bathroom and chewed tobacco lumps in night table drawer. Spray air freshener the cleaning staff gave us didn't help. Second stay on the 6th (top) floor had upgraded bathroom fixtures and was quieter although someone had obviously smoked in it. If you're allergic to feather pillows, you have to request foam. Hotel promises duvet covers are washed for each new guest, a nice assurance. As always, great free coffee available 24 hours. Oranges, apples, bananas, cut fruit mix, oatmeal, cereal available for healthy breakfast altho' unfortunately only brand of yogurt is Yoplait--the type colored with carmine (dead ground up beetles). Many stores and restaurants very close. When you find lines at the popular Olive Garden and Red Lobster, go 1/2 mile down the highway and enjoy our favorite, O'Charleys.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub/shower combo (rather than only shower), you have to request it. Sixth floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesthebarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
charlesthebarles, I want to thank you for the review and apologize for the issues with the first room. We have addressed these issue with housekeeping. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast offerings and the location. If you come through Charleston we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

First, the staff was friendly and the welcome reception was a very nice perk.

This is an older property and not particularly clean. The bathroom has mold everywhere and there were washcloths hanging on the shower curtain rail from the last occupants, Ugh. The tub drain didn't work properly and there was very little hot water.

The pool was big and very nice with a whirlpool as well. We enjoyed it but had to report a guest drinking beer in the hot tub.

It really needs a large crew to truly deep clean this hotel. So many little things overlooked and believe me, they add up to a scruffy spot.

We slept well on wonderful beds and will hope that can make up for the rest of the problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poesjenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Poesjenel,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay here and we are very sorry that you ran into problems during your stay. We have fixed the bathroom issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can have another chance at showing you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was traveling with my mother and wanted to break up the drive between Pennsylvania and North Carolina. Charleston was about half-way, so I picked this Hampton Inn based on TA reviews. I agree that this is a top choice in West Virginia's Capital City area. It is about 4 miles off of 64/77, but well worth the brief "detour" as the hotel is in the midst of a major mixed-use area of retail and businesses. Thus, you have many dining choices around you and ample shopping should you need anything during your journey. We found the beds to be exceptionally comfortable and the room very quiet, so we slept well, which is not always the case when traveling. We did not make use of the business/pool/fitness facilities, but all looked to be in good order. The breakfast area was well-run and the offerings what I would call slightly above-average for a complementary buffet. Should I return to Charleston, I would certainly stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank washpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
washpa, I appreciate the detailed review, and it is nice to hear you picked us due to our reviews here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the compliments and descriptions about our location and amenities. If you come through Charleston again, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had the most wonderful experience at this hotel. We slept so soundly, and when we woke up, it took us a while to realize we were not at home, we were so comfortable. Breakfast was awesome - nice and fresh, and plenty of protein (omelets, sausage, etc.), unlike most hotel breakfasts. We'll stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Michelle N, I can't think of a higher compliment to a hotel than yours about your wake up! Thank you very much. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us, and I look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Hampton Inn. It was so clean and quiet. I was very happy with every part of my stay. I especially enjoyed the free continental breakfast and how clean the hotel was. The hotel staff was very helpful and made my stay very enjoyable! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Kim N, I'm happy to hear you enjoy staying at Hampton and that your stay was so pleasant. Thank you for the compliments and I look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing