We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“probably won't go back”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

there was a long blonde hair hanging from the hair dryer, there is a large crack around the faucet in the surrond around the bathtub. We never received our wake up call. The so called hot breakfast had no meat at all and was mini preformed egg omelets with peppers in them. No plain ones. tasted like premade and frozen two months ago. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spooky2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Nancy H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room. We’re working with our maintenance and cleaning team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. We’re sorry your breakfast didn’t live up to your expectations. We appreciate your suggestions and will share them with our Kitchen staff and servers whose goal is to serve our guests fresh, tasty, healthy meals. We do hope the next time you are in our area you will consider staying at our hotel so we can prove to you that our true experience can be so much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    170
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
245
151
28
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The service is excellent, social hour is well attended and light snacks and beer/wine are a welcome treat after a long day. Right next to Cabelas and good restaurants, but some distance from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Michael P,

Thanks for staying with us! I'm so happy that you had a great time and enjoyed our Manager's Reception. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Leisure trip for one night. Stayed at Hampton Inn-Charleston Southridge because we had friends staying at the same location. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was decent. Pillows on the bed need replaced. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Scuff marks on the floor of the tub that could easily have been removed if properly scrubbed. Dusty baseboards. Obviously lacking attention from the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank LMS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
LMS34,

Thanks for the compliments to the staff and I am sorry to hear about the lack of attention to detail that was paid to your room. We have worked with the Staff to make sure this is taken care of and won't happen to future guests. Please give us the chance to show you the improvement at a future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the complementary breakfast was quite tasty especially on Sunday morning. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and it won't break the budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Renee W,

Thanks for the comments to our staff and I'm happy to hear your stay was good. I appreciate the comments on the staff and your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed overnite at The Hampton Inn Southridge location.We were on our way home from N Carolina and wanted somewhere semi close to The Cabelas Store near Wheeling.After reading the reviews on trip advisor we opted for this location.It was the number one listed in the reviews.Since we traveled all day it was not the closest but most convienient in our time frame.I booked online and asked for the two queen beds and non smoking room.My reservations were quickly confirmed via email.We arrived shortly after 630 pm and were finally greeted at the desk.She was the only one on duty and answering the phone.When I asked about a AAA discount it was not available since I booked online.Something to consider in the future.Check in was quick and she was pleasant and expalined the amenities.We brought our things to our room ,freshened up and decided to grab a bite to eat.Note,There is no retaurant within.There are plenty of fast food type restaurants within a short drive as well as a Quaker Lube and Steak within walking distance.There was also a Walmart,Cabelas ,and Gander Mtn nearby.The hotel room was clean as well as the hotel in general.The hotel is away for the Highway which made for a restful nite.It could use a minor up grade here and there.My major complaint was that we were not afforded the AAA discount and no way to include that when booking online.Not a deal breaker.Most importantly ,since I asked for a non smoking room it did in fact smell of stale smoke which was noticeable even with the Air Conditioner running upon our arrival.Either we were giving a room that is used for both smokers and non smokers alike.Or perhaps it was a smoking one at one time and the lingering odors remain.Maybe some Febreeze on a regular basis is warranted.Coffee is available in the lobby 24/7 and a free breakfast buffet in the morn.There were a variety of items available and well tended too.There might be better and more updated hotels in the area but this served our purpose for a one nite stay

Room Tip: If you request a non smoking room,insist on a room that has never been smoked in if possible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINGOWISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is probably the nicest Hampton I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very nice and the staff was excellent. The evening reception was very nice as well, one of the best Iv'e attended. It’s also convenient to the airport without staying downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Greg A,

We like the location of being slightly outside of downtown, and we're glad you did as well. I'm happy your visit with us was outstanding and I thank you for the compliments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here recently on our family vacation to the DC area. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

I LOVED the beds in this hotel. Hadn't slept as well as that in a long time and awoke very refreshed. Breakfast was great and the pool and workout area was nice too. My children loved how the Jacuzzi was right beside the pool, allowing us to go from one to the other easily.

We will definitely stay here again, if in the area. Very nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MORachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonCharlestonMGR, Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
MORachel,

We so LOVED to see your review! Please allow me to thank you for staying at the Hampton and I'm so happy to hear how your whole family enjoyed the stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Address: 1 Preferred Place, Charleston, WV 25309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Southridge Shopping Center, the Hampton Inn Charleston-Southridge is just steps away from shopping and dining establishments. Close to major businesses in Charleston, yet next door to walking trails, swimming and skiing, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Don’t forget to begin your day with a free, hot breakfast or a quick dip in the indoor pool. Also enjoy complimentary high-speed internet and business center for the duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing