We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
oakville, on
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We needed pet-friendly room om the way back from vocation and ended up booking a room in Country Inn. Normally we stay in Marriott or Hampton. Not-smoking room stank of years of smocking; floor was covered with animal fur, and the most disguising - comforter had lots of hairs on it, and had large wet spot in the middle. In the bathroom we found what looked like recycled towels. The manager kept to apologize to everybody, it looked like their only solution to all problems. The breakfast was ok, but the area is overcrowded and food ends pretty soon. Would be ok for $50, not $130

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaOakville_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    110
    56
    27
    8
See reviews for
189
99
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Had to stay here on a business trip in the area. Located right next to the highway, so it was noisy at night. I stay at Country Inn & Suites regularly, and this is one of the poor examples. It wasn't dirty, but it wasn't clean either - and it wasn't totally uncomfortable, but it wasn't great. Overall it was "blah". I survived, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtgraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here five days during a softball tournment. The frOnt desk lady was very helpful accept when we got out if the pool there was no yield and I took her over 20 minutes to get us towls. Breakfast wasn't the greatest but over all I give it a B.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The front desk lady was very helpful at check in and explained were everything was and the best places to eat. Pool and hot tub was warm and clean. The room, in front of building was updated and very clean. Breakfast was o.k. . Overall a pleasurable stay, will return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogaholic29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Caught in traffic and still several hours from home, I chose to just get a good night's sleep. So I opted to stay at a "suite" hotel and expected to pay a premium price, but also get a better value for the money. All that was available, or being offered was a king bed, 2 room suite. I threw my bag in the room and went for a nice dinner. I came back late and upon using the bathroom for the first time, found dirty towels still piled up and an overflowing trash can. The rest of the room appeared to have been cleaned and just the bathroom was missed. It was late and extra towels were available, so I just crashed. New soap was available but I ended up using my own shampoo, since none was provided. The breakfast area is very small and was overwhelmed by a tour bus the next morning. At checkout, I mentioned the unclean bathroom and although the room number was noted, I only received a quick apology. Not sure what I expected, maybe a discount on the current stay, or a discount on a future stay. But something more than just an "I'm sorry". If I need an overnight stay in that area again, I will either push onto the next city, or at least choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrownContraDad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milroy, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We were driving home, and stopped here without a reservation. The main hotel didn't have room, but there is an adjacent hotel called "Aspen Suites" which did have rooms. It was 2:00AM when we checked in, and the front desk clerk gave us keys to an already rented room. Fortunately, when the key cards didn't work, we headed back to the front desk before we woke anyone up trying to get into their rented room! For this, they took $10 off our room rate. When we did get the right room, we found it clean, well-maintained, and very nice for our needs. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is above average. The linens were fresh and bug-free, the carpet was clean and relatively new, there was a microwave and minifridge and flat-screen tv in the room. Ours also had a small pull-out sofa. The furnishings were very basic, but we had wifi. This hotel met our needs well.

Room Tip: Check in before midnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Country Inn has always provided good value for the price. This property is no exception. It is conveniently ocated just off the main freeway , within walking distance to nearby restaurants. Make it a point to ask for a room farthest from the freeway, if noise is an issue. The Front Desk person was kind enough to grant our request. Rooms are quite dated but clean. The bathtub however needs a good cleaning with hard water stains and soap scum plentiful. The freebie breakfast was passable, though the breakfast room was tight and dark. I'd recommend you try another Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almoranis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Address: 105 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing