We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

This was my first experience staying at a Country Inn, and I was pleasantly surprised. We didn't hear any highway noise. It was clean and included free breakfast. We did decide not to use the pool because it was very small and reminded me of an oversized bathtub. Overall, this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingPlaces30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    105
    49
    23
    7
See reviews for
167
89
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

This hotel is RIGHT on the interstate, as we found out while listening to jackhammers all night. I believe the construction was temporary, so it's not as though you should expect construction noise if you visit in the near future. While the proximity to the interstate is convenient for traveling, it's not convenient for sleeping, and knocks this hotel down from an above average to average in my opinion.

Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful at check in and check out.

Indoor pool/whirpool was great. Both were nice and warm.

Breakfast was better than average, with biscuits and gravy, eggs, etc. added to the usual complement of hotel breakfasts.

We had a pet with us. The pet room we stayed in was fine (didn't smell terrible). There's a dog walking area, complete with baggies for scooping.

The parking lot is shared with another (cheaper) hotel and is too small for both hotels. The parking spaces themselves reminded us more of Europe than the US. If you're traveling with a large vehicle or pulling a trailer, this may be an issue for you.

  • Liked — Indoor pool
  • Disliked — Highway noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheProudestMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

Wonderful hotel. We were driving back from a beach vacation and stoped for the night. The first place we stayed was a "budget" hotel next to the Country Inn. (What a dump.) So we quickly checked back out and my husband walked over to Country Inn and they had only 2 rooms left. (I have a feeling we weren't the only ones fleeing from the other hotel that night) We had a king suite with a pull out sleeper sofa. So comfortable and clean. We will always stay here when stopping through. Only drawback was we were on the highway side of the hotel and there was noice from the highway. But the clean comfy rooms and wonderful staff made up for that!

  • Liked — Comfortable clean rooms!
  • Disliked — Highway noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Betcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

This hotel has wonderful, courteous employees.
Nice comfortable beds, and GREAT pillows.
Breakfast was included and it had cereals, waffles, (you make), and (not so good) scrambled eggs.
Very nice indoor pool, just the right temperature!
Our only complaint was the jacuzzi was not working. It was hot, but no jets or bubbler. We informed the front desk, and they said a part was ordered for it.

  • Liked — The pillows, and the staff
  • Disliked — broken jacuzzi
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooselips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a 1-night stay and had a great experience. We had just pick up a puupy and found the pet friendly accomandations suitable for pet friendly hotels. The hotel had a very nice indoor jacuzzi and pool which looked clean with plenty of towels. The bathrooms were spacious and the room was very clean. The free breakfast was OK and we must've gotten there too late (before 9am) and the breakfast was being put away. I just had time for a morning coffee but was told by my wife the milk was sour for her cereal. Fortunately, we had a long day ahead of us of driving and pick up some food along the way home (instead). The staff was very friendly and located just off the highway. Not to worry we didn't hear any large trucks and/or cars passing by and it was pretty quiet. Would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Charleston, WV for the night.

  • Liked — Clean & pet-friendly accomandations
  • Disliked — Breakfast and quality of food could be better
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeOxford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

Loved the Country Inn and Suites. The room was quiet and the hot tub was great! It was actually hot! Breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2005

We stayed at this hotel on 7/31/05. The room was good, but the service was lousy. I could never get the wireless internet service to work, and the front desk finally told me that the manager had "forgotten to reset it when he left for the night". The rails on the hot tub were dangerously loose. There were no pool towels available (and they tell you not to take the ones from the room because there are towels specifically for the pool use). Another guest went to get some, and the front desk said 6 was all they had. My family of 4 had to share ONE towel. None of the ice makers in the hotel worked. We were not offered any sort of discount on our room cost.

Helpful?
Thank kimrice03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Address: 105 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing