We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room/mediocre service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very close to I77 with some truck noise ( we had an even numbered room) but we slept well due to an amazingly comfortable bed. Breakfast was okay, strange that they only had light cream cheese would stay there again. I don't smoke but nice that they had two outside tables for smokers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

In the past 4 months we have stayed at 4 different Country Inn and Suites. This one was the least value for your dollar. The front desk person had the attitude we were interrupting her when we checked in. When we saw her smoking in the hotel it should have been a clue things here we're not up to the standards of the other Country Inn and Suits we had stayed at.
On the plus side the room was clean and the complimentary breakfast was good. The breakfast staff did a great job of keeping things re-stocked and the area neat and clean.
Bottom line, if you're a Club Carlson member, don't waste your points on a stay at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The front desk clerk was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with lots of pillows, big bathrooms and plenty of towels. I was upgraded to a larger room with a sitting area just because and that was nice. The breakfast area was clean, and though I didn't eat much the breakfast was a fine selection. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I am a newby to Country Inn and Suites and I would stay in one again! The decor was done very nicely. For breakfast there was a good variety. Comfy beds and a great shower. There is an in-room micro-fridge. Just be sure to check the temp setting. All of our food froze.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cpnestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We've stayed here many years over the holidays when visiting family in the area.

A stay a couple years ago was bad (awful breakfast, pool closed without notice, general cleanliness issues) and, given his responses and non-apology, the GM didn't care so we stopped staying here.

But, we travel with small dogs and this is one of the only properties in the area that accepts pets. Since we also like an indoor pool, we prefer to stay here. The Red Roof Inn next door also allows pets and for no fee but no indoor pool.

This time, we notice there's been a decent amount of renovation in the rooms, front desk area and breakfast room. The pool area also looked better, not sure if it was a redo or if it's just cleaner.

First, we were put into an accessible room with a roll-in shower which I hate. I went to the desk to change rooms (I HATE doing this) and was told this was the only "pet" room left with our requested king bed. Eventually, we were given a room on the second floor with two queens. It was at the end of the hall, right by the stairwell, which was great for walking the dogs. A king would have been better since it gives more room for the rest of the room but we made the two queens work.

The rooms and the new Country Inn & Suites decor is a nice change from the overly country look before although this locations was more Tuscany inspired before. The logo has changed, the website is changing, new gen properties are changing, it's all nice.

Our bathroom was pretty much clean but there was a hair on one of the towels which isn't expected but doesn't freak me out. There was a shampoo and an already opened and half-used conditioner but no lotion as there usually is.

The pool and hot tub and the areas by them were all clean. The pool and hot tub were nice, the proper temperature and well maintained.

We were there for three nights and on the second day our key cards quit working on the entrance doors as well as our room. I had to go to the Front Desk to get re-keyed cards.

Overall, the staff (other than our housekeeper) just always seemed like they couldn't be bothered. This is always a big downer but it is what it is when it happens.

Breakfast was B A D! First morning, bad. Second morning, bad. Third morning, bad. Every day, bad. Whoever it was manning breakfast either was running around like a chicken with their head cut of and clueless as to what they needed to do (a guy on Sunday morning) or a girl who did nothing and basically sat at a table charging her phone, texting and writing on a paper.

All of this while there's NO fruit of any kind, NO milk, NO half and half, very little syrup, dry overcooked oatmeal and sparse anything else. There was an egg choice each day but no meat, aside from sausage in the sausage gravy one morning being served with burnt biscuits.

I've had this bad breakfast at other Country Inn & Suites properties. This wasn't a one-time thing at this one ... it was every morning.

Given the bad breakfast experience, my value perception of the stay goes way down. If this is the best this property can do, get rid of breakfast and drop the price $20. The current price of around $90-110 per night is way too much without a decent breakfast and is even a little high for the area with a good breakfast experience.

I would stay here again given the room quality and indoor pool.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, there is less highway noise in odd-numbered rooms which are ones facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvs2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast area was clean, and breakfast was a fine selection. We used the pool and hot tub and both were clean. Our only complaint was the highway noise during the night, but only for the light sleepers in our group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Address: 105 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing