We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“August 9,2014”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel is very accessible from HWY 77, could use more sinage at driveway entrance. Got in late, room was ready. Sheets smelled clean from laundry, washrooms in mint condition.I will remember on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you for stopping in! I hope you do choose us on your next visit to Charleston!


Mary Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    115
    57
    29
    12
See reviews for
201
101
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good nice location and staff very nice would have loved it if the whirlpool was fixed to enjoy it. But I will return for sure. thanks Would love to have cookies at all times and would be nice to have a social hour in the evenings

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Shayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a great find we were in a 1 bedroom suite Very clean So nice and quiet Super comfy beds Even the pull out couch was cozy for the kids This is the place Nice laundry facilities Close to restaurants Newer Eventhough it is close to the highway you do not here a thing BEST hotel in Charelston well worth the money Breakfast was ok just really busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a new, or newly remodeled hotel and it looks nice and clean. The entry is warm and inviting, they have free, excellent, fresh-baked cookies and coffee in the lobby. A nice clean indoor pool, and very nice - but SMALL rooms.

Room size vs cost were the only real negative factors I came up with, knocking 1 star. If the room was closer to $100 a night it would be five stars.

Staff was polite and courteous, GerryAnne was very nice. The staff was great but spread a little thin.

Overall, if you are willing to spend an extra $30-$40 for CLEAN hotel then this is well located, just seconds off the interstate and a nice hotel.

Notes: Call ahead for military/veteran discount. Not a LOT but it helped.

Nearby: Subway Subs run by a very slow thinker. Texas Roadhouse. Several other hotels including Holiday inn Express which appears to be attached to this or very close. Motel 6 is near and several others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Checked in a little late and was happily greeted by a very cheerful front desk woman. Offered me some pretty fresh cookies straight from the oven. Place was clean, room was excellent. After a week on the road, this was the second best breakfast we had...very good in all aspects. One of the exterior doors code reader was broken, so you could go out (in the event of an emergency) but you had to go back in through the lobby a short walk away. Great place, highly recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjacostausmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, IL
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here on the drive from Ilinois to US Open. Found used tissues behind the night stand, TV remote did not work and had to be replaced, floors not properly vacuumed, and worst of all- In the morning, the toilet did not flush properly!!! Because we had to get dressed and on the road, we could not wait for the hotel to send someone to fix it. We had to use the toilets in the public restrooms in the hall. Those bathrooms had not been cleaned from the day before. Dirty dirty dirty. We really were not happy at this hotel. On the good side, the ladies at the front desk were helpful and apologetic and offered to a dd points to my Club Carlson account by way of apology.
The hotel was fully booked due to events in town. Prices had been jacked up and cost of suite was way too high for that room- especially with all the issues we encountered. Breakfast area was stocked and clean. It was just the room that made us unhappy . Doubt that we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for room that will not be near barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesOfFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stay there 3 days, we have 2 dogs, so they accommodated all our special requests. Ground floor, close to the outside door. Parking close to the door. Breakfast excellent,lots of things. Rooms very clean,micro ,refrigerator,internet was free,very close to 77 . This is the best Country Inn, I have stay. I recommend to people that have pets.The staff really nice.
The price is great,not far from downtown Charleston . Texas steak house right next to the hotel,if you are a veteran they will give 10% discount. The pool was close for some reason but looks good.

Room Tip: For pets owner, ask for a ground floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice area, Holliday Inn next to the hotel, people there are really very nice.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 23 in Charleston
337 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Address: 105 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the mountains! Our hotel is located in the beautiful capitol city of West Virginia. We have available numerous outdoor activities such as snow skiing, white water rafting, golfing and biking trails.Within one block of our hotel are many choices of restaurants, bowling and malls. We are also close to the Governor's Mansion, Appalachian Power ball park, WV Cultural Center, and The Clay Center for the Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Charleston-South Hotel Charleston
Country Inn And Suites Charleston-South
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing