We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not the best value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here on our trip from Michigan to Charlotte, NC. Of the two HIE's we stayed at, this was the better one. Still, it is in need of some updating. The room was comfortable, however, and quiet. Internet worked well. We had no problem with parking. There is are several restaurants nearby including a decent Mexican eatery. The breakfast was fine, but my wife and I couldn't eat the pancakes that were made by a machine. They were rubbery and tasteless.

I give a lower grade to this hotel for value since at over $130, you expect more than mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    49
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
25
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

i try to stay at these locations whenever we can. it was hard to find this motel because the sign was hooked to a holiday inn. the room was pretty clean. we had a room secluded at the top of the stairs. but the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night while in South Charleston for business. Was rather surprised by the condition of the property, old and run down. However, they were in the middle of renovations -- which caused the entire hotel to smell like paint fumes and oil/grease from the elevator shafts that they were working to repair. They offer breakfast in the morning -- its not bad but could use some tweaking. The eggs and potatoes were extremely salty, to the point that I aborted eating and went to cereal and toast. The staff was friendly and the room was average. The bed provided a decent nights sleep but that's about it. I am not sure I would stay here again. There are other options just a short drive away in downtown Charleston that I will probably consider.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
This is not the Holiday Inn Express Charleston South. The property you are referring to is the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center located in downtown Charleston. We are located at exit 95 I64 approximately 10 minutes from downtown. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We checked in at nine pm on Sun. Sept. 30, 2012. The air conditioner was on in the room and set to 56 degrees. When I woke up the next morning and turned on the light a cockroach ran across the floor. I captured it in a cup and took it to the front desk. The woman at the desk was friendly and said she would leave a note for her manager. He was not due in for two more hours. When we checked out a different woman at the desk gave us a discount of nine dollars. She acted like this was not unusual. I called Holiday Inn Corporate Headquarters and they offered to send me 11 more dollars. I told them to keep it, I just thought they should take care of the bug problem. I guess freezing them out is not working. I hope they will take the 11 dollars and hire an exterminator .

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Peg B,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

On Aug 9th my 20yr old son was traveling from Canada back home to NC. He had car trouble & had to spend the night in Charleston. The only problem was that nobody would rent him a room because he was not yet 21 even though he was 7 days shy of his birthday. It was 2am. He had been traveling since 9am the day before. Despite explaining his situation & offering to have me, his mother, call they still refused. I called Holiday Inn & spoke w/a VERY nice man named Mark or Marcus (sorry, I was upset & don't remember exactly) and explained what was going on and he said under the circumstances he would be happy to rent him a room. I almost cried. So thank you Holiday Inn for taking in my son when nobody else would. You deserve 5 stars in book!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsboro, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Qui, my enormous mastiff service dog in-training, was heartily welcomed at this pet-friendly Holiday Inn. The first night, Qui was terribly distracted as she had never seen a pool (visible from front desk) nor had been in an elevator before. It was only her second overnight travel trip. I chose this place because they were pet-friendly, but despite her poor behavior, as soon as they discovered the dog was training for service, they did not charge the pet fee. Great start!
Every staff member, from front desk to housekeeping, with whom we came into contact was respectful of the mobility/ balance dog training process and even eagerly helped when I was practicing. Elevators are now handled with ease everywhere thanks to using the hotel's to train. She is now, only a month later, doing her main job effectively and I credit the experience at the hotel with the early start. Additionally, my luggage was carried to my car by a staff member when I checked out....I am ashamed that I did not have dime one in cash to tip him, especially since he recognized my disability, yet did not make me feel disabled. I hope he reads this....a sincere thanks doesn't pay the bills, but his gentelmantliness was indeed priceless.
Although the training of the dog aspect was the most important, I really liked the look of the hotel's interior - fresh, tasteful, spotlessly clean and in perfect repair.
Thanks to all the people who made this a good experience...and for calling my four-legged baby pretty! I will definately chose to stay there again whenever I have business in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I thought this place was really good. Semi was getting fixed and they recommended this place. kitchen hours aren't convienent but there is a bar. there was an area where you could access their computers and they had unlimited wifi if you used your own device.

Room Tip: no noise on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing