We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, overall...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On our way to HHI from Ohio, we stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Columbia, South Carolina. This location was beautiful for a HIE - see my other review from last week. I spent around $110 with tax for that hotel.

At this location, I spent nearly $130. This located is clearly a converted hotel. Other reviews speak to it formerly being a Comfort Inn, which looks/sounds about right. The room layout was a bit odd - the sink was outside of the shower/toilet area. Though, that's typical for hotels like a Red Roof, etc. So, it's not like it doesn't happen; I just wouldn't have expected it at a Holiday Inn Express. Was it a major issue? No.

The room was clean and updated in the last few years, is my guess. We did have a room against the highway. You could hear the noise, but only barely as we had the HVAC going. It didn't bother us, overall. It was a nice touch to have a fridge and microwave in the room. The kids used the pool/hottub and both worked and were clean. Bfast was good enough - the eggs were clearly some sort of "substitute." The wifi was slow - I tested it a few times and never got more than 1mbps down. That's barely good enough for email with any sort of attachment.

Overall, I found it to be a clean and safe hotel. I believe it's overpriced at $135 and even what i paid for it through Hotwire. It's a $79/night hotel before tax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front to avoid noise from 77, which is literally RIGHT next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear shumax,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We wanted to stay at this Holiday Inn based on our past good Holiday Inn experiences. What a disappointment!!! After confirming that I was eligible for a substantial discount on the room as a corporate employee, I tried to go onto the HIE employee web site to book my reservation. Guess what! The IHG web side was down and requested that I call the IHG reservation line. After calling 4 times and giving my Rewards Club number 3-4 times EACH TIME to an endless loop recording, I gave up as I needed to get into my room for a video conference session. Imagine my surprise when I found that their "high speed internet" barely supported e-mails. The girl at the front desk desk said that "it happens a lot" and suggested that I try the lobby guest computer. Really!?!?!? A conference call in the lobby by the reservation desk??? I had to go to my cell phone to conference in at least the voice portion of the meeting. Not a good experience! On the bright side, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast lady was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear RickL1509,

Thank you for writing a candid review on your recent stay. We are very pleased to read that you found the beds comfortable and the staff helpful. On the other hand, it seems that our amenities, in particular the internet connection was a let down. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. As for the corporate discount, your concerns have been forwarded to the respective departments and I am confident that appropriate action will be made to ensure this does not reoccur.

Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us gauge what we are doing right, and what we can improve on. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns. We hope you would consider staying with us again when you can enjoy the hotel amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express is a favorite road travel brand of mine but this hotel was a major disappointment from poor customer service to way too few parking spaces to way overpriced for a minimally clean room that sits right next to the interstate.
When I arrived the the hotel staff at the registration desk couldn't even acknowledge me standing there let alone greet me like they understand that I have a choice of where to stay and spend my travel dollar. Add to that the housekeeping staff having a loud argument in the hallway outside my room before 9:00 in the morning and I think they need an intensive customer service course.
The small parking lot is way to small for a hotel of this size and it is shared with another hotel meaning there were not enough places to park either night I stayed and no alternative, lighted places to park. I felt unsafe in the situation.
Sits only yards from the interstate with blackout curtains that do not block out the interstate lights and the noise is pretty constant.
This hotel looks and acts like a $69 a night hotel not a $129 a night hotel. Convenient location for my business travel but I will not be staying here again. Definitely not my usual experience at a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear K L,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to hear that our location worked for your needs. I understand your stay is not 100% satisfactory. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the noise challenges has caused you. We are also disappointed to know that you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Once again, thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel location is a bit odd to find unless you have a GPS, and the rest of Charleston is like that as well.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and my room was very clean.

Breakfast has improved unilaterally at all Holiday Inn Express, and this HIX has followed suit.

I will continue to use HIX on business travel as this is a good example of the consistency that I can expect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear mk48066,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha City. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying our new healther sections at the Holiday Inn Express Brand. We continue to look for ways to improve and we value our customers opinions.

We strive for excellance and glad we met your service and accomodation expectations. I will pass along to the team your comments. You are correct, it can be tricky to find us when your come off the exit and we are happy your GPS was able to get you here with little trouble.

We hope to see you again if your travels brings you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had 2 very pleasant nights here. Reasonable price, very clean rooms. Needed 2 doubles for the second night, and Patty the dayturn manager was very helpful and got us a room directly across the hall that was already cleaned and ready, making the transfer almost painless. Thanks! I'm a light sleeper and I was not too bothered by the road noise of I-77. The breakfast was nice, staff kind and pleasant. One of the best rooms we've ever had in Charleston; we've visited several times a year for the last 4 years. I only wish we had stayed here before. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: King beds are on McCorkle Ave. side, Doubles are on the I-77 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Janice C,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha City. Thank you for the nice review. We have shared your comments with Patty and the rest of the team. We take pride in providing excellent service and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Charleston. Warm Regards, Patrice Lutz General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If driving east-bound, just watch out for the very sharp exit off the Interstate. We were towing a heavy auto transport trailer, so it was unexpected and a little intense.

The building was formerly a lesser brand than Holiday Inn Express and some of the features (or lack of) are evident such as the single very slow elevator.

Our assigned room faced the Interstate, so could have been quieter, but we were tired enough to not notice and slept soundly. The room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was the basis fare for this class of motel; pretty good, but not anything special; besides most patrons are too blurry-eyed to notice in the early morning.

HI-Express shares a parking lot with an adjacent motel. When we pulled in at 8:30 PM and parked the truck and trailer in what we thought to be out of everyone’s way and easy to maneuver out the next morning turned out to be a different story. Our truck and trailer was surrounded by vehicles and we had to wait for several vehicles to depart so that we’d have enough room to make the necessary turns to drive out of the parking lot. And I thought we arrived late… Fortunately the drive to our final destination was far less than our previous legs of the trips and time was not as important.

Room Tip: Parking lot vs. Interstate side of the building, obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WA2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear WA2world,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stopped in without reservations and the parking lot was full of vehicles. I felt we had no chance for a room but did actually get a very nice room. We were on ground floor, and the room couldn't have been better. It was clean, large and very accommodating. There was a satisfying continental breakfast and the staff was pleasant. We were driving a 26' U-Haul and they had no problem with us parking it in there lot. There was an area for large trucks to park. Not many, but a few.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing