We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 2 August 2006

Our family decided to stop in WV rather than drive straight through from Virginia to Ohio. We stopped at a few hotels to find that they were booked. We stopped at the Comfort Suites as our last resort before we moved onto another town to find a room.

The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. It was clean, well maintained, had beautiful grounds, clean work out area and a very nice pool and hot tub.

The staff was courteous and friendly. The breakfast the next morning was plentiful and good for a free breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel and will be looking at Comfort Suites in the future when we travel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank butterflyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2006

This hotel is RIGHT ON the interstate - convenient, but noisy. Trucks are going by 24/7 using their air brakes to slow down, which makes it noisy. The woman working at the desk was surly; when we asked for help finding a restaurant nearby, she told us to look in our room (there was a notebook with restaurant info in our room). She never even looked up at us each time we entered/left the hotel. There are no doubt worse hotels in the area; on the plus side, our room was clean, and the hotel is dog friendly. We could hear tv's on either side of us through the walls. But at least it helped drown out the noise from the interstate! The parking lot is shared by the Country Inn next door, and it was busy during our visit.

The hotel is located away from downtown and the capitol area, but it is not a long drive, and it looked better than some of the hotels downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2006

This hotel is spacious, remarkably clean, sanitary and staff is A+

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momof4greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The room was clean, quiet and pleasant.

Parking was not so hot due to 2 hotels sharing the lot so when it rained you had a little bit of a run to get to your car.

There is a Texas Steakhouse within walking distance as well as 2 convenient stores so you can always get something simple if you need it.

The hotel is 2 exits or so away from the downtown area. For some this will be a benefit and for others it will be an inconvenience. Either way, by car it will take you 5-10 minutes to drive downtown.

The pool and hot tub were being painted when I was there, so if this is something you want to use, call before booking to make sure it is open.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cichness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2004

Our family of six stayed in a suite with 2 queen beds and a sofa-bed. Our room was very comfortable and had plenty of room for all of us to relax and not feel as if we were all on top of each other. We had a room that backed up to the interstate, but the only time we could hear the traffic was when we opened the window - we hadn't even noticed any traffic noise before that. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and if you bring your laptop, they offer free wireless internet and even provide the wireless cards for your laptop in case your laptop is as old and not up-to-date as mine is. All the rooms come with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. In the morning, the hotel provides a free hot breakfast; there are also several family-friendly restaurants within walking distance in case you wake up late and miss the free breakfast. We were very happy with our stay at the Comfort Suites.

8  Thank Thomamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 14 April 2004

Had reservations here for over a month. Specifically asked for suite on 1st floor. No 1st floor rooms available when we checked in. Room on back side of hotel had deafening noise from interstate just outside window, i.e. trucks gearing down and going over bump. Next day asked for 1st floor room. Got that, then it was flooded with water next morning. Had to move again. Left this hotel for another destination, came back and had same problem with reservations again, i.e. specified room not available. If you stay here, be sure to ask for ear plugs or get a room on the front of the hotel.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 1973max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Ln, Charleston, WV 25304-2971 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £84 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing