We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream in town!”

Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Ellen's for years and always get the Espresso Oreo. It is the best! I also love that they have a cart at the Capitol Market that sells their ice cream during the nicer months. Highly suggest it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieBaker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    37
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great homemade ice cream located in a historic side street. Its a wonderful place to take a family and sit on a warm summer day. They have a great variety to choose from too. The prices are a bit high but it was a treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisadayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

big variety, service was poor and slow, smalltown shop,probably pass next trip. coffee was old and very strong taste, unpleasant after a meal, was looking forward to something fresh, warm and tasteful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenmaryansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to cool off!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Small ice cream shop that has a great atmosphere and even better ice cream. A little high priced I think for ice cream but it is worth the value if you are stopping in only a few times a month. I will be going back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our conference was delighted to have an ice cream social that was catered by Ellen's Ice Cream. People were swooning over how good their ice cream tasted. The team, including Tom, one of the store's owners, who were serving even accommodated us by opening a bit early when we requested it. We were invited to come down the street to the store before we left WV. Very memorable ice cream!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovelyMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing