We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal Ice Cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream

Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

While visiting my daughter in West Virginia we were told we had to try Ellen's ice cream. I was kind of skeptical about it being the best ice cream I had ever had. I was raised on some very good ice cream but I was wrong. This is the best ice cream I have ever had. The only negative thing I could say about this place is the chocolate ice cream is too chocolaty. I know it is supposed to be chocolaty but I am not a huge chocolate fan. The mint and Heath were great but the Black raspberry was phenomenal. f you visit Charleston WV. This is a must stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    37
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or a sweet treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Ice cream and more. Unique and interesting flavor options. Nice lunch choices. Lemon Zestivall is a personal favorite offered only during Festivall. Cute shop and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceLoveBoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delectable ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Capitol Street area is the better part of Charleston and Ellen's makes it sweet! Standards and special flavors available. Try the coconut ice cream with their hot fudge... A warm Mounds bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wishfulpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ellen's is the best. Period. Great ice cream (espresso oreo is my favorite), great location! Love local business' like this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always stop for a scoop when in downtown Charleston! Quaint little shop with a feel of nostalgia. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and ice cream - made on location - is extraordinary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chaswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing