We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new Japanese restaurant”

Kaifu Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“new Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Have been only once. Food was OK. It took forever to get a bottle of wine from a very skinny wine list. Very loud music to the extent it was unpleasant and difficult to hold a conversation. Have no reason to return

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great sushi - can't believe its in Charleston”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm always hesitant to try sushi that (a) not near a major city with an airport and/or (b) not near a place where fresh fish is easy to obtain. However, Kaifu is awesome. Great sushi. The chef knows his stuff. I'm in Charleston about once a month for work, and I eat lunch there frequently. Very good prices too.

The restaurant is very small (if you walk by too fast you'll miss it), and the décor is a bit worn, but the sushi makes up for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gamma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Lanes, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for sushi!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our family frequents Kaifu regularly. The waitresses are very friendly and service is good. The sushi is wonderful! Our favorite roll is the Red Roof. The spicy fried tofu is also delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi in WV period”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love this place. I always come for Hawaiian poki roll. He gets the sushi combo. The sushi chef, Yoshi, is always very friendly and does a wonderful job. This is the best place for real sushi in WV. This is not the place to come if you want fancy rolls covered in too much sauce and you can't taste the fish. This is a place to come it you want the real deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
313 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just plain nasty and expensive for food we couldn't eat. Canned peaches dumped out into bowl...sushi was slabs of raw fish...yuck...service? I guess trying for Flo but missed the boat and just seemed rude!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank flt587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaifu Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing