We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but have seen better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The room was nice. Make sure you book your stay in the tower if you want internet. The lodge is very dated and somewhat dirty. The indoor pool needs better ventilation the fumes from chlorine burn your eyes just sitting by it. The water you would think would be clean first thing in the morning but it wasn't. Bugs floating in the pool and no clean towels to be found. Overall was an ok overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback. We are working toward Wi-Fi being available throughout the casino, including the lodge. We are also planning to begin hotel room renovations later this year. I will pass along your comments regarding the indoor pool to our maintenance team. Thanks again for the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Wife and I took our grandaughter to mt. They did the spa while I played. They had a fine time. After the wife hit the slots while we swam.. indoor and outdoor. Later we went and played the horses. This has become our favorite place to play and will be coming back next month.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DBAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

DB,

Thanks for the positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are very nice as are the beds.Well kept. The only problem is the smell of smoke is very bad. New ventilation is needed to keep smoke from casino out. But over all good bang for your buck

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie Halliwel... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Debbie,

We appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel. We have made upgrades to our ventilation system and will continue to do so. We are also planning to begin hotel room renovations later this year. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were there in April and July and have reservations for August. We treat ourselves for birthdays and holidays. We are going to try the lodge because our family from Columbus is meeting us and we thought we could be together on the first floor by the pool my brother in law needs a wheel chair. I booked 4 rooms we should have a great time. We love the breakfast in the upstairs restaurant. Always have a really fun time at the Mointaineer I go to Presque Isle in Erie almost every day and tell every one about Mountaineer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thanks for the positive review. Although the first floor is a popular request, we will do our best to accommodate you. We appreciate your feedback and your telling your friends about us. We look forward to seeing you in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stay and gamble at Mountaineer casino and resort about once a month. We always find the experience pleasurable, even if we don't win, but a lot of the times we do win. From the time we check in ( the ladies at check in are always delightful and positive), to time we leave we feel welcome and comfortable. The bartenders, the dealers, the slot attendants are helpful and polite and professional. During our last visit we had the pleasure of meeting the slots manager, Jason Pugh (I made a point of getting his name) as he was so nice and up-beat. Thanks Jason.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable, never had a problem.

Thanks to all the employees at Mountaineer. We travel and gamble somewhat, and for sure Mountaineer is our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Timothy,

Thanks for the positive review and for all of the kind words about our team members. I will make sure that I pass them along. I also spoke to Jason and let him know that you mentioned him by name. Thanks again for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Went to the Grand Hotel at Mountaineer for a weekend with 3 other friends. Was not looking forward to a smokey room but was pleasantly surprised. Not a trace of smoke smell in our room. Room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Casino and lobby were very smokey but once in nonsmoking section of casino, all was well. Great breakfast at the restaurant also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachair25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thanks for the positive review. I will pass along the comments regarding the breakfast to our food and beverage director. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went down to mountaineer for a boxing event. And ended up staying the night. Did not spend a lot of time in room. Was clean, nice beds! Casino was nice found table with $5 starts. Some of the carpet in hallways in Hotel could be replaced.

Room Tip: Stay in tower of hotel newer, they have a old section in back. Looked a little dated. But the pool l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thanks for the positive review. We are happy that you had a good time. I also wanted to inform you that we are planning to begin hotel renovations later this year, including the hallway carpet. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newell
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in East Liverpool
49 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
251 reviews
13.3 mi away
Days Inn Lisbon
Days Inn Lisbon
#1 of 2 in Lisbon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort

Address: 1420 Mountaineer Circle, New Cumberland, Chester, WV 26047 (Formerly The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort Chester, West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing