We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice. Extremely clean. Nice, friendly, helpful staff. As a non - smoking person, this is one of the cleanest smelling hotels I have ever stayed. Though we didn't use the pools, both the indoor and outdoor pools were very nice. Hotel room was quiet, no road or traffic noise. Several nice restaurants nearby. Bar that serves food on premises.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Missy Atha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We appreciate your recognition of the level of service we like to provide to our guests. It's pleasing to know you had a nice stay and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The indoor pool was a real treat but the hot tub was often being used by kids as a play pool, so it wasn't really available to use. The staff was very friendly and accommodating when we requested a room change. The breakfast was plentiful and there were several different hot food choices. The location was good and even though it was right off the highway there was no highway noise. The rooms are being remodeled but there was no noise or confusion caused by this. Wifi was unstable and often we didn't have a good connection. There was a keypad at every guest entrance which made it feel more secure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank your for your plentiful and kind review of our hotel during your visit with us in August. We appreciate the time spent in leaving us with your comments that help us continue to make each stay and enjoyable experience. It's nice to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at the Mardi Gras Casino on a trip to Charleston. The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. The hotel has two pools, a fitness center, and a bar. While we didn't use the pools, we checked them out. There were renovations being done at the hotel, and while they were visible, we never heard construction noise. Breakfast had a great variety. The hotel was just minutes from the nearby Mardi Gras Casino and several restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwned24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you for your great review of our amenities and service during your stay with us in August of this year. The renovations are almost complete and we hope you get to return soon to enjoy them all. It is our goal to make each guests' stay comfortable we are pleased to know we were able to meet that goal for your and your family. Come back to see us soon.

Kilnd regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We called here while on the road and asked if they had 2-room suites. We were specific about 2 separate rooms, 1 for us, 1 for the toddler to sleep in. They said "yes" and they had such rooms available. We arrived and paid for a suite room. Of course, the suite is not a suite at all. It's a large room with a dividing "wall" that only runs halfway across the room and it doesn't even reach the ceiling. So much for normal conversation and TV watching when the little went down for the night.

Other than that, the nightstands had crumbs, what looked like dried jelly and water-rings from the previous guests all over them. Not sure if pads of paper and pens are a usual amenity, but there were none of those. And there was mold in the bathtub. Gross. (see pic)

For a place that is smoke-free, it smelled musty like smoke. I do appreciate their desire for a smoke-free facility though.

Breakfast was just OK. The dining area is small and the chairs are huge so it's awkward trying to get around the place. The styrofoam plates and plasticware are a pretty low-rent touch.

We never got a receipt, under our door or otherwise. We waited at the desk to check-out for over 15 minutes (so we could get a receipt for our stay) and eventually gave up. The front-desk attendant was CHECKING-IN a person AT 8AM the whole time we were waiting. We didn't have the time to wait more than 20 minutes for our receipt, so we had to jet without one. Oh well.

Room Tip: Don't expect a suite with 2 separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Woodgrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments of your stay with us in July. It is disappointing to know your stay with us was less than your expectations. Your review has provided us with training opportunities that will help of focus on corrective measures that will prevent the inefficiencies you experienced from check in to check out.

It is our goal to regain your confidence in our property. I would like for you to contact me when planning on coming back to this area and give us another opportunity to give you the wowing experience you deserve.

Again, Thank you for review.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I wish I could remember the names of those that provide excellent service as easily as those that provide the other kind of service. That being said the lady that checked us in was very kind and polite and speedy and efficient. The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel property that we saw. The free breakfast had every thing we like to eat for breakfast. It wasn't top shelf in quality or taste, but it was fine and the people did a fine job of keeping everything stocked.

I'm sure we will stay again the next time we take a spur of the moment trip to watch dogs chase rabbits.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay with us in July of this year. Your kind words will be shared among the staff to encourage our continued goals of excellence.

We look forward to your next stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff quickly made us feel welcome and were friendly and helpful throughout our 1-night visit. The indoor swimming pool was beautiful. The hotel, however, seemed dated and worm inside and out. The hallways were dark and the floor underneath the carpet seemed uneven. Even though it was a smoke-free facility, our room had a faint odor of smoke. The bed was neatly made, however, the pillow cases looked like they were not fresh. This hotel is near many different types eateries, although none are within walking distance. All in all, this hotel is adequate but nothing special. I do want to emphasize, however, that the staff is exceptionally cordial.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sewellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thank you for your kind insight and comments from your stay with us in July of this year. It's nice to know our staff made you feel welcomed and provided you with a positive from your stay.

We are on the final leg of a $2.5 million dollar renovation in which all of the rooms will be renovated from top to bottom. And since your stay we have a new lobby, breakfast room, corridor carpet and most of our rooms completely renovated..

We would like for your to stop by the next time you all are in the area and give us an opportunity to regain your confidence in our property. We will make sure we show your our best side of hospitality in both service and amenities.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location off the highway is convenient and the proximity to restaurants and gas stations is nice. We were staying during the middle of renovations at the hotel, so there was alot of unfinished areas that did not look great. We did have a room that was renovated and was a nice room, with a lot of space for our family. Breakfast was very good, with a lot of space for guests to find a place to sit and eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us from your stay in June of this year.

We are on the last portion of our renovations and hope you will return to enjoy the ambiance of the completed project.

Kind regards,

Cindy Bagwell, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.8 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
1,106 reviews
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
9.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston

Address: 102 Racer Dr, Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1472 (Formerly Comfort Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 136 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Garden Grille our full service restaurant just off our large lobby with fireplace. Breakfast buffet available. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, and a Picnic Area with grill . From the moment you arrive at Wyndham Garden, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing