We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very handy location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed a night on our drive back from Myrtle Beach. We were a little worried about finding the place after some of the other comments. Here are the details. After taking exit 47 of I64 turn left. You will see their billboard telling you it is next to the casino. It is not, the Comfort Inn is. At that stoplight the casino is right, the Holiday Inn Express is left. Stay on that road until just before the Golden Gridle, it is a little drive way on the right hand. Do not turn up to go to the TGIF, Cracker Barrel, if you do the staff there no how to give you instructions on how to get there. Once you are there the staff is very friendly and efficiant. Checked in in no time, two bottles of water, a spin on the wheel, two packs of snack packs and we are on our way to the room. We had room 220, a king suite and nice and roomy, but the lights from the parking lot shine in the room as the curtains do not close. I mentioned it on check out, maybe they will fix it.The pool is more a hot tub and very nice and warm, the bed comfortable. The heating and cooling is very quiet and does the job while not interfering with your sleep. Breakfast starts at 6 am even on the weekend, great for people that want an early start for a long day of driving. It is still the South and Biscuits and gravy are on the menu, much appreciated as a treat, even if a little too salty for my liking. Great sausages and pastries, and very good and hot coffee. They have a shuttle to the casino should you want to go. Very close to the Interstate, both on and off makes it a very good pit stop.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the parking lot lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    27
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
31
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is only about a year old which could explain how clean it was, but the service was excellent and friendly, the room was very clean, the breakfast was nice with everything from cereal to eggs and fresh coffee. When you check in they give you a spin of a wheel which has prizes listed from free candy and things. Also was provided a complimentary beer at happy hour but couldn't make it. Looks like the hotel was carved out of the side of the mountain. Just look for the sign up on the mountain or you will miss it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commonpatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We travel through West Virginia at least one time ever 3 months---and need a nice place to spend the night----this is it! Also, should Cierra Boyd been at the front desk--you will have a wonderful experience checking in or getting info or checking out--She is wonderful! See below--I will stay here again just because of the staff!!

Now the hotel just opened in Jan 13 but you'd think it had been open for years--the build needs help--it looks really nice but the power outlets are loose, the shower heads are loose and the towels rack had been removed but you could still see where it was. Last complain is whomever is the designer of the room needs to change jobs--those sinks that look like a fruit bowl may look good in a briefing but are the worst sinks I have ever seen--if you are not at least 5' 9" tall you will need something to stand on--recommend they be removed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear LTCI, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We pride ourselves in our front desk friendliness and we are happy to see that you noticed. We are greatly sorry for your experience in our rooms while staying with us. Our maintenance and management are working together to fix all these problems. We cannot wait to see you again here in a few months.
-Tyler Long FOM Cross Lanes West Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities USA
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Quick check in. Helpful and friendly staff. Neighbor left a 5:00 a.m. wake-up alarm ... apparently for no one (didn't shut off for several minutes) ... not Holiday Inn's fault, but annoying. Oh well. Breakfast was very good with lots of good choices, dining area neat and clean. The only real issue was attempting to find the place when travelling from the west (you can see the sign when driving east). It's hidden on a frontage road that even Google Maps couldn't locate. Acutally stopped at the Comfort Inn to get directions. BUT, it was worth finding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Blandboy, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We like to say that we are a diamond in the rough. I am sorry it was difficult to find us, but we are working on fixing that. I am glad that you were happy with you stay and we hope that you come back to see us.
-Tyler Long FOM Cross Lanes West Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the staff checked us in and gave us bottled waters and a snickers bar. They were friendly in the evening and morning. The hotel was clean and I would stay again. The breakfast items were fresh and a good variety.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 246Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear 246Trips, We are ecstatic that you had a wonderful stay with us. I shared your review with our staff and they were happy to hear you had a great stay. We appreciate your kind words and we hope that you come back and stay with us.
-Tyler Long FOM Cross Lanes West Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

One of my favorite hotels to stay overnight is holiday inn express, this is one is one of the best!! I walked in to our room thinking it would be just another room. Wrong it was super and so clean!! I love the bathroom sink, it was more of a bowl. Plenty of room and smelled fresh!
The front desk staff was one of the nicest and helpful you will find any where!. On our way out they made sure they said have a great day!! What hotel does that? Usually they are busy and pretend they don't see you, what a nice feeling to know your acknowledged! We stayed on the 4th floor and it was so quit I might have thought there was no one else on the floor. That was great for we were just tired and wanted a good night sleep!! Will stay here again!
Breakfast was great the normal breakfast bar, but clean and full!

Room Tip: rooms on the top our so quit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pansey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwinkleFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Pansey43,

Thanks for the awesome comments! I have passed the comments on to the staff and they were estatic! :) We are glad you enjoyed our NEW hotel and can't wait to see you again!

Twinkle
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison GA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Staff from reservation to check-in/out was great. Have you ever been in a hotel where EVERY employee at EVERY level asked you how your stay is going... Everyone was doing everything that they could to accommodate their guests. I witnessed staff replacing the desk chair in one room. Property has a very new and modern feel. There was a manager's reception with snacks & beverages from 8 to 9. As others have mentioned, luggage carts had gone astray; staff made every effort to help guests and to find them only to learn that an elderly couple had taken one of them and admitted they should have brought it back sooner. This morning, I found one in the hall on the fourth floor and let the front desk know. Room requests were granted and rewards members were given water and their choice of candy. When we arrived, hallways were a bit warm but the room was pleasantly cool. The bathroom and room decor were attractive, comfortable and quiet. The lighting at the foyer mirror is perfect for putting on makeup. If you happen upon a bed that the bedside table dip, just sleep diagonally. Breakfast didn't offer REAL oatmeal but had instant available. The coffee and eggs were really good. If you have an issue, give them the opportunity to make it right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwinkleFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Perky51,

Thanks for the great comments! We take pride in our service and love to hear about how well we are doing! There is one thing that sets us different from everyone else, which is if you give us the opportunity, we will make it right and even better! Thanks for staying and hope to see you again soon!

Twinkle
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
1.0 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
535 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
994 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Address: 410 New Goff Mountain Rd, Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing