We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you just need a place to stay here it is.”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you just need a place to stay here it is.”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Not a Resort! Destination! It's a country hotel. Clean. Comfortable. Near the stuff you want to see and do. Good breakfast. And not priced to blow your budget. I look forward to ending the day here, mainly because I didn't spend the day, and all my dough, here. Sleep here, eat breakfast here, and have a GREAT, HOT shower here...and spend most of your money on what you really came here to do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnTheHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    12
    2
    12
See reviews for
14
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Came to Timberline ski resort for a last minute weekend on President's day weekend so all the hotels near the resort were all booked. Able to get a room at the Alpine Lodge. It is old, dated, and basic. It was clean, quiet, and ok for a night or two. On the positive side, the people were friendly and everything worked. Lights, plugs, hot water, TV. There was no housekeeping service and we were surprised to return after our day out to find bed unmade, trash unemptied, and nothing freshened up. The shower was like a firehose-pressure almost painful to stand under, but at least it was hot and the bathroom was clean. Glad I brought my own soap and shampoo...the provided soap was in a wall dispenser in the shower and two tiny bars on the shelf. The shampoo they provided was in plastic like ketchup comes in at a fast food place. Free wi fi was helpful, and TV had all the stations and good reception. The SawMill restaurant was ok for breakfast. The wait staff was very friendly and service was good.

Room Tip: I would choose 2nd level so people can't see in window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Alpine lodge my wife and I stayed at was priced low. The rooms were small and dated in the furnishings. They definately need updating. The bed was very old fashion and bounced a lot. A pillow top mattress is needed. The room was overall very clean. The bathroom spotless. The overall motel is old and is in need of significant updating. The Sawmill restraunt, that is attached, has excellent home cooked food, but no abc license. All the people there were very accommodating. They are under new ownership now and seem to be making improvements, but slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAJR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel was recently purchased and is being upgraded and renovated by the new owners. The improvements are very apparent. Nice, affordable and comfortable room. The staff and owners are very warm and friendly. Really enjoyed the Sawmill Restaurant. Generous home cooked meals at very reasonable prices. The location is perfect and close to many attractions including Blackwater Falls State Park. This is a very beautiful area of the country. Definitely will go back. The "locals" are very friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianagirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

New owners this year. You could see the work being done around the place but it wasn't happening when you were around so no noisy distractions. Nice clean room with the basics. Great location for anything you wanted to do. Blackwater Falls State Park was a very short distance away! The shower is great! Stayed 3 nights and it felt very "homey". Restaurant right on property, very handy.

Room Tip: Some rooms have 2 double beds and 1 king. Great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Ok, The pool has caved in because of heavy snow and has not been torn down. This is about th only place to stay without a reservation in the area. The room rate was $55. The room was basic and clean. There was no wireless,clock or much else. It is a basic room. We wandered in had dinner in town and went to the brewpub next door. We had a nice breakfast with the locals. The buckwheat pancakes were very good and the price was right. They do have new owners which should help.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the Davis area plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

If the room was $30, I might not be so mad. But the room was almost $100, we did get the lady to give us a AAA discount so it took it down to $85. When we saw the caved in pool building and the do not trespass signs on the cottages, we knew we had screwed up. Just like the others said, you feel like the entire building is going to collapse as the floors are sinking in. No clock. Really? Thank God the coffee was free. We didn't try eating there as someone came out of the restaurant and promptly got sick, right in front of our room. The check in lady had shown up to pick up her meal and I asked her to please hose off the vomit. She said, "Oh, must have been someone who just left the restaurant. " So no, we didn't eat there. I really thought I was going to have to leave and just suck up all that money, but like the others, we were only there for 6 hours to sleep and we survived. Never again, that place is a disgrace to the town. A nice new Super 8 would be SO welcome!!

Room Tip: Have plenty of hard liquor on hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sisterwifeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
7.2 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
24.8 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
277 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
2.0 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
5.6 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: Route 32 William St, 850 Sawmill Lane, Davis, WV 26260
Region: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is a 46 room hotel located in Historic Davis, WV - across from Blackwater Falls State Park. Centrally located near many of the high country attractions such as Canaan Valley and Blackwater Falls. All room amenities include Private baths, Refrigerators, Color Cable TV and Free Wi-Fi. We offer comfortable & spacious Single Rooms with a queen or king bed, Double Rooms with 2 full size beds, and also offer special triple rooms with 3 double or queen beds. The Sawmill Restaurant is located within the hotel and open 6am to 8pm offering home style meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing