We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild, Wonderful West Virginia”

Blackwater Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wild, Wonderful West Virginia”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful place to see. Be advised there are a lot of stairs to get down to the fall. Handicapped must take the old road down to a viewing area that is a distance away from the falls.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jay34144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    168
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Canyons, Falls! This Park has it ALL!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I did not know what to expect when I set out to visit Blackwater Falls, WVA. If you drive several hours to see the waterfall, a visitor might be disappointed that it is not super spectacular as falls go. There is so much to see and do in this pristine State Park. There are great cabins for rent because if you want to explore, hike, fish or swim it might be a good choice to stay for a few days. I especially enjoyed the views of the canyon and got acquainted with the park by driving around in a loop. It is a great place for outdoorsy types anytime of the year with cross country skiing and "Nordic" recreation area. We only visited from Northern Virginia for a few hours but the driving through West Virginia mountains and towns, and mines was a great experience. There was no petting zoo the day we were there but the Visitors Center near the falls is staffed with friendly and informative employees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Loved the Falls”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went driving on a rainy day and ended up at Blackwater Falls State Park.
We love the fact that we were able to view the falls from the handicapped side of the river. The path was short and level. Even though you did not get as close to the falls, the view was still very nice. We also loved the little petting zoo they had at the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost heaven.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

it was nice to revisit Blackwater Falls State park after many years. it is nice to see it unchanged. Even more beautiful due to a wet spring and summer. Facilities are well kept up. Restrooms are plentiful and clean. Trash is picked up regularly and hardly ever does it appear crowded. Love the hiking trails. Due to the wet weather recently they were a bit muddy but that is to be expected. the lodge is very pleasant and clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MountaineerLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Falls are Great”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Falls couldn't be better for viewing. Go to the trail that starts at the trading post parking lot -- you hike down a lot of stairs, but they are nicely laid out with resting points on the way. Lots of spots to photograph the falls. If this trail is too difficult, the Gentle Falls trail works pretty well. Hiking trails in the park are not particularly difficult, but very scenic and the signage is quite clear.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwater Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing