We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canaan Village Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yokum's Vacationland(Seneca Rocks)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fort Hill Motel(Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Motel(Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
36
39
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
39
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseneca rocksgas stationroom was cleanone nightconvenient storehd tvfelt like homemini golfwithin walking distanceplace to staystate parkdolly sodsgeneral storeper nightshort drivemini fridgeenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at this Inn at Canaan Valley, WV on three occasions within the past two years. Our first visit left a lot to be desired, to say the least. We were not pleased. The rooms weren't filthy, but they were DEFINITELY not what I consider "Clean." I doubt the sheets were even changed and there seemed to be just a general lack of caring by the staff. We didn't plan on a return visit- EVER.
Our second visit was due to necessity. We couldn't find a vacancy in the area and this inn happened to have ONE room available. Against our better judgement we caved due to being so tired. BOY AM I GLAD THAT WE DID!
To our surprise this inn had changed the entire staff- right down to the general manager! Evidently we weren't the only ones that felt some changes were needed!
The rooms were literally spotless! From the outside grounds, to the hallways, to the toilet- everything was clean to the highest of standards. (And I was a Sergeant in the Army for 12 years). The best part is, drum roll.... they also have the best rates of any facility in the area located so close in proximity to the slopes!! You can see the slopes from our room window!
Our third visit went just as well. Only during this visit we got more acquainted with the staff. The management remembered us from six months earlier! They literally treated us like we were family. I don't mean that to sound so cliche, it's the truth.
I"m not one to write such a long and glowing review but I honestly felt the need to do so in the hopes that someone somewhere who may have stayed at the Canaan Village Inn before the improvements in staff and management and left feeling as we did will see this review. THIS AIN'T THE SAME PLACE IT WAS TWO YEARS AGO!

Room Tip: Just ask the management! They want you to have a good stay. They bent over backward for us. The general manager drove his personal car and had us follow him to a good restaurant for breakfast when I couldn't find the place by their directions!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Canaan Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thanks for the review ! That's a great place to go to breakfast and it tricky finding the restaurant. We also enjoyed the breakfast also Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I were travelling through the area by motorcycle and stopped here for one night. This place is a great deal as we paid $60 for a king room which was large, clean, and everything worked. This is not a five star hotel but it is easily the best low priced accomadations we ever stayed at.
The most outstanding attribute was the friendliness of the hostess. She recomended places to eat as well as other areas of interest. We purchased a bottle of wine from the convenience store across the street and the hostess insisted on giving us wine glasses to use and provided a corkscrew. She also let us park the bike under the canopy in front of the inn to keep the dew off it so the seats would be dry in the morning.
We highly recomend this place and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Canaan Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

We always enjoy you stay here ! See ya soon!
Sam and Jana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stopping by accident we found one of the most gorgeous places on the Eastern side of the USA accentuated by the Canaan Village Inn. The reception was outstanding as was the accommodation they offered, a large room with a view of the surrounding mountains. A couple of good restaurants nearby completed the picture along with a large supermarket fairly close by in Davis. The young hostess bubbled with friendliness and information as to what we could visit to make our stay better. Needless to say the place is immaculate, smelled of fresh apples, and we hope to go back there next fall.

Room Tip: A room in the back away from the road would offer the best views and perfect quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Canaan Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you all for staying with us ! Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Canaan Valley has got to be one of the prettiest places on the planet. As a Mountaineer expatriate, I am firmly convinced it is this area of the state which inspired the phrase "Almost Heaven, West Virginia." That said, it can also be a rather expensive area to visit. But not if you stay at Canaan Village Inn!

It's amazing that Canaan Village Inn is so ideally located - close to Blackwater Falls, Dolly Sods, Seneca Rocks, and many other breathtakingly gorgeous places - and yet offers such reasonably priced accommodations. The Canaan Village Inn consists of rooms, apartments, and even a 4 bedroom chalet, all for far, FAR less than you'd pay for lodging at one of the nearby resorts.

Innkeepers Sam and Jana Mancinotti are incredibly friendly and never too busy to stop and share their wealth of information about places to go and things to see in the area. Seriously, they've sampled all the area food and know all the best deals and the coolest places to go, so talk to them.

One caveat - don't plug the Appalachian highway address into your GPS because it probably won't recognize it. Canaan Valley Inn is located on Rt. 33, just down the road from the Canaan Valley ski area. You can also use the GPS coordinates on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Canaan Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

I hope you both the best and the chalet was a great choice for you and your family!
Thank you Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a nice small town motel. Management ("Sam" = owner) was there to make sure all was well and that the guests were satisfied with the accomodations. He knew the area like the back of his hand. Reasonable price. Good coffee in the lobby. Conveniently located for a trip to Blackwater Falls and foliage peeping. Restaurants nearby. If you are using a GPS, enter their coordinates (found on home page of website), and you will find yourself in their entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at Canaan Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

John your welcome here anytime my friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews