We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WV Wildflower Retreat - 53rd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a wonderful weekend at Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge in one of their cabins. Cabin accommodation was great, even lit a fire in the fireplace one evening when it was cool. Lots of hiking trails, camping facilities, and many other things near by. It is in the Monongahela State Forest. A great place to take families and kids. Lodge has great food, swimming pool and recreation facilities.
Will make this trip again next year. Only two hours from Morgantown, WV.
Made this trip Mother's Day weekend.

Room Tip: Definitely a wilderness area. Lots of flora and fauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

This Memorial Day Weekend, we stayed in a 4-person cabin with my parents at Blackwater Falls State Park. I grew up visiting the falls often and always wanting to stay in a cabin. The idea of staying at Blackwater was a mixture of timely convenience, reasonable holiday-weekend pricing, and interest expressed by my parents because they had previously enjoyed a long-weekend in cabin at Lost River State Park last winter.

Reserving online was easy and we reserved the cabin about a month out, since we knew the park would sell-out very soon; we didn't get to choose the #16 online, but spoke with reservations about selecting the right cabin for our needs (which include no pets due to allergies). The total price for the 3-night holiday weekend stay came out to around $45 for each person, each night which was very reasonable. The cabin was in spectacular condition! It was clean and rather spacious - 2 bedrooms (1 with a queen, 1 with two twins which were comfortable), 1 bathroom (stand up shower), and combined kitchen and living room with wood-fireplace. The front porch had two lawn chairs and beautiful foliage around for natural privacy walls; the deer would often make their way through the yards, grazing about. The back yard had a small deck with stairs, hibachi grill for charcoal, picnic table, and clothes line; it was also lined with trees for privacy. The cabin set back quite a ways from the road and privacy/noise was not an issue. They provide your linens (bedroom and bath), as well as, kitchen cloths and kitchenware/cooking utensils -- all you gotta bring is clothes, food, and basic toiletries. Our first night, we did opt for the forced heat which kicked-in quickly. However, the next two nights, we opted for the wood-fireplace which easily (and without the usual overwhelming smoke) heated the rooms and we enjoyed making s'mores.

Location is nice as well. There is a "Balancing Rock" trail not too far from the cabin. Lindy Point (which is a MUST see just before sunset), the Lodge (which cabin folks can use - the breakfast buffet was really good) and the Falls are a short drive in opposite directions. And Canaan Valley/Timberline are a few miles out, but great places to explore along with the towns of Davis and Thomas.

All in all, this modern-day "roughin' it" type cabin-camping was a delight at Blackwater Falls State Park Cabin #16 and we will definitely do it again!

Room Tip: If you have allergies, request "no pets permitted" cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reebee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an aging property that's kept clean by its friendly staff. There are hiking trails and overlooks of the falls near by. Tip: Avoid the restaurant. It took an hour to get our food and a 1/2 hour to get a glass of wine. The bread basket came after the food was delivered. The food definitely wasn't worth waiting for unless you like tough beef and cold mashed potatoes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is a beautiful place to be!!! I usually go every two years for a family reunion and it is always clean and beautiful!!! I seriously recommend staying here for vacation!! They have tons to do, if you like nature!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxjustkiddingxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When Himself and Yours Truly decided on a short break to Blackwater Fall State Park, Blackwater Lodge was our first choice for accommodation. In terms of aesthetics, the lodge is housed in a wood and stone structure built in the mid-20th century. Newer additions include an indoor pool and fitness complex and a 200-seat conference center. The lodge on whole is comfortable but not luxurious. For us, however, the real draw of the place was its location, surrounded by the local woodlands and perched dramatically on Blackwater Canyon’s south rim. The grounds include a spectacular overlook of the canyon and of the Blackwater River far below. Situated within the park itself, the lodge offers an excellent base for exploring its attractions.

Blackwater Lodge boasts 54 standard rooms and suites on two floors, some with canyon views and the rest facing the parking lot. Our reservation was for a standard room with one queen-sized bed on the lodge’s north side—that is, with a parking lot view. The price with our senior discount was an entirely reasonable $91 per night. On arrival, we asked if there might have been a cancellation that would provide us with a canyonside room, and we were offered a suite at $121 per night, senior discount included. We accepted eagerly.

Our suite was in fact a large room—about twice the size of the standard offering. Amenities included two queen beds, a substantial round oak dining table with four chairs, a leather-ish couch (not sure if it was a sleeper), two large armchairs, a console cabinet containing a minifridge (larger than the usual) and coffee station, and a 32-inch flat screen TV attached to the wall by a swivel mount. TV viewing options were generous but did not include premium movie channels. Other furnishings included an assortment of end and bedside tables. The suite also featured a walk-in closet (a rarity these days in hotels) and an entirely separate bathroom provided with plentiful linens and basic toiletries. Our room had only one more-or-less standard sized window, but it had a spectacular view of the canyon. We spent many happy moments standing by the window and soaking up the effects of the fall season’s changeable weather patterns as reflected on the canyon’s opposite face.

Overall, the room was clean and well maintained. Some might regard it as dated, but a classification as “country modern” might be more accurate. It combined a rustic ambiance with practicality and such modern conveniences as flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi. As with the lodge as a whole, the room was entirely comfortable but in no way elegant or extravagant—with the exception that it boasted an extraordinary amount of space. It was worth the extra $30 per night for the space alone, but with the view, it was twice a bargain.

We did not use the annexes for the conference center and the fitness complex, but we did visit the gift shop (small with an assortment of souvenirs, mostly made abroad) and we enjoyed the common room. The latter included a TV corner with comfortable seating, a functioning fireplace facing an area furnished with a sofa and armchairs (great for reading or snoozing), and a number of tables and chairs that could be rearranged to suit. We spent a good deal of time at a table where a jigsaw puzzle had been laid out and where we met other guests who could be snared by such an old-fashioned pastime. If our experience is a guide, the common room truly was a place where guests are able to meet and engage with one another.

The onsite restaurant was large and open, with oak tables that varied from round to square to rectangular. A long, narrow buffet arrangement took up the center of the room. Menu choices were relatively limited, with service and food ranging from passable to nearly outstanding, depending on the server and the meal.

Housekeeping and reception were good, though there was some confusion at check-in as to whether our room was ready for release. We were given keys only to find the door open and housekeeping incomplete. After a conversation with the maid staff, we stowed our belongings in the closet and vacated the premises until all was in order. It proved a truly minor inconvenience. Thereafter, housekeeping took place daily in the unobtrusive manner of good service.

According to where you look, Blackwater Lodge is designated as a 3- or 4-star hotel. We’re inclined to agree with the 3-star advocates. This is a lodge, not a resort, and it offers neither the amenities nor the level of luxury that should be part and parcel of a 4-star accommodation. We found the staff to be helpful and polite, if occasionally a bit confused. They were more kind and willing than they were professional. From reception, to restaurant, to housekeeping, the staff consisted of workers who happened to work in a hotel. They were not really “hotel professionals.” It was like being cared for by thoughtful but somewhat distant aunties—they were very pleasant, but they were not really specialists in their trade.

Would we return? Absolutely. Our interlude at Blackwater Lodge was very pleasant. Would we recommend it to others. Of course we would, but with full disclosure as to what perspective patrons should expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a canyonside room and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoneOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just got back from spending 4 days at Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge with a group of other photographers. The room I shared with a friend had a canyon view and was one of the large rooms with 2 queen size beds, a dining room table, a sofa, 2 chairs, a refrigerator, and a giant flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was smaller with a tub and shower combo and a small sink (no counter but a shelf above the toilet) water pressure was not as forcefully as I prefer but it did the job. There is no hairdryer in the room. There is also no coffee/tea in the room but there is some available in the lobby. We took advantage of a special rate they had for this time of the year. I don't spend much time in the room when on vacation so cleanliness and a comfortable bed is really all I care about - and this lodge fulfilled that. It's not a 5 star hotel so don't expect that... it's a basic room, not a fancy room. Yes decor may be a bit outdated but that's not enough to keep me away. The only issues I had with the room was that it had a very slow internet connection and that some of the outlets didn't work.

There was also a full service restaurant in the lodge which I didn't use but some members of the group I was with did. There was a nice large area with several tables, sofas, and a fireplace adjacent to the lobby that would be a nice place to hang out before or after dinner. There was also an indoor pool and patio (plastic chairs) and an exercise room - both of which I didn't use but looked nice.

I loved the location of the lodge. There is a great view of the canyon from the back of it... which also makes for great sunrise/sunset views depending on the time of year. It is right next to the very short trail to Elakala Falls... if you scramble down the side of the embankment to the water you can get some great pictures of the waterfall and the swirl. Be careful on the wet rocks - they can be very slick! It is a very beautiful waterfall and well worth it if you are physically able to get down there. If you are daring, there are 3 other waterfalls further down the creek that are progressively harder and more dangerous to get to. The lodge is close to other popular areas in Blackwater State Park such as Lindy Point (about 30min away then .4mi hike - great for sunset shots), Blackwater Falls observation deck, Gentle Trail Overlook of Blackwater Falls (wheelchair accessible), and the Pendleton Point Overlook. It is also about 1 hour away from Dolly Sod and Seneca Rocks.

Room Tip: Canyon view is worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sds239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

One of our State jewels, we enjoyed a delicious lunch. Sat at the gorge side. The waitress took all orders by memory, with modifications. Lodge has a charm which allows us to focus on the beautiful forest, falls, and wildlife..

Room Tip: Ask for gorge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
6.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
2.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
58 reviews
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
566 reviews
22.8 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
283 reviews
5.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#3 of 7 in Davis
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Region: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Davis
Price Range: £81 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in historic Blackwater Falls State Park, named for the breathtaking waterfalls that plunge five stories and tumble through an eight-mile long gorge in West Virginia. Blackwater lodge, cabins and restaurant are open year-round. Each of the 54 guest rooms comes equipped with a private bath, phone and television. The lodge also features a game room, sitting room with a cozy fireplace and indoor swimming pool. Cozy cabin rentals are also available. The onsite Harr Conference Center can accommodate meetings and special events, up to 200 people. Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a relaxing retreat in a mountain setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing