We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location! Don't Eat Here...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location! Don't Eat Here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is great for all the wonderful hiking and sightseeing in the area. The rooms are a bit more than passable and definitely affordable.
I do believe you shouldn't eat breakfast here, it's disappointing at the least. Lunch and dinner are fair though.
Regardless, as someone who travels with the outdoors in mind, I recommend.

Room Tip: You want a room with a mountain view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kl4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    65
    41
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
80
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

First the good points. Location, location, location. The lodge is situated right in the middle of Blackwater Falls State Park, which makes it an excellent base for hiking and viewing waterfalls. The rooms are a nice size for two people with beds which I found quite comfortable. The bathroom is small, but adequate. Now the problems: food and people. We ate dinner in the lodge restaurant one night -- buffet advertised. I checked with the server and confirmed that it was only buffet. Imagine my surprise when I looked around later and found people ordering menu items! Hours of the restaurant were listed as open till 8:30 and we arrived around 7:45. The lettuce was almost emptied -- meats were running low -- and the mixed veggies were down near the bottom of the pan. All hot items were fairly tepid. On the other hand, breakfast in the morning was hot and ample. The people problem was likewise sporadic. The three people present at check-in seemed more interested in chatting among themselves rather than attending to customer business. The waitress at dinner was likewise inattentive as well as inaccurate (buffet vs. menu). Breakfast service was a different story -- pleasant and attentive. Bottom line: would I stay here again? Yes -- the positive outweigh the negative. But Management might want to take a look at tweaking the hotel product.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

So, the good is:
The rooms are clean. The food in the restaurant is good. The people are friendly.


The bad:

The rooms are outdated. The mattress seems to be very old or of very poor quality. If you like a very soft mattress, this is the place for you. I had a very tough time of falling asleep. In-room refrigerators are not available. The staff doesn't mind fighting in front of the guests. I wish the state of West Virginia would embrasse the beauty of the Statte.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam60177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to the ocean and spent the day walking the trails and splashing in the water near the falls. The scenery is amazing! A very relaxing day in the woods and mountains. We did not stay at the lodge so I can not comment on the accomadations there, but if one is near the area it is worth the time to stop and see the falls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mjbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We live in metro DC and decided on a visit to the mountains to cool off. We were agreeably surprised by the Lodge and its facilities. We had booked a suite and the living room and balcony outside had beautiful views. Good walking at all levels, beautiful waterfalls. We only ventured out of the park once to a nearby brewery and otherwise had our meals at the Lodge restaurant. We found the staff there to be friendly and helpful and their long opening hours were much appreciated as we would come in from a walk at different times. Their baked apple pancake for breakfast was scrumptious. Overall we felt the meals were more than satisfactory. There are some areas which could use updating, but there appeared to be new carpets and covers on the furniture and there was a very comfortable lounge area. Piping hot water in the bathroom and shower. The pool and hottub were lifesavers for aching limbs. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canyon side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eileen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay overnight but ate at the lodge
And the food was worth going back again
The staff was great the views were great
And also got rained on , that even felt great . And yes I would do it all again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A nice park with waterfall scenery and hiking trails. Not many local choices for lodging. This is a dated lodge with little soundproofing, but it is clean and in an excellent location. Beware of the restaurant- the reviews are correct about the HORRIBLE service. I would consider another stay at the lodge, but I will not visit the restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stealthray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
6.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.3 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Property: Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Region: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in historic Blackwater Falls State Park, named for the breathtaking waterfalls that plunge five stories and tumble through an eight-mile long gorge in West Virginia. Blackwater lodge, cabins and restaurant are open year-round. Each of the 54 guest rooms comes equipped with a private bath, phone and television. The lodge also features a game room, sitting room with a cozy fireplace and indoor swimming pool. Cozy cabin rentals are also available. The onsite Harr Conference Center can accommodate meetings and special events, up to 200 people. Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a relaxing retreat in a mountain setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing