We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already reserved for October”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dryfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Anchor Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Already reserved for October”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Pondview, May 29th through June 1st. This is by far one of the most luxurious cabins we have ever had the opportunity to stay in. We did absolutely nothing but relax and enjoy the hot tub. Everything you need has been considered and is in the cabin. We ate breakfast and dinner on the deck with its spectacular views. Perfectly located just a few miles from Canaan Valley and Blackwater Falls, it allows you to also enjoy Davis and Thomas (Purple Fiddle is like the best place in the world and The Hillbilly Gypsies rock--in a bluegrassy sort of way). Stayed in places from Guam to France and by far one, if not my favorite, places in the world. I hate to write the glowing review but since I already have secured my little slice of heaven in October, I feel compelled to tell the rest of the Trip Advisor community about this gem.

Room Tip: Pondview is actually a cabin that is big enough for a family with two full beds and two twins. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Get away from it all. The closest store is 10 minutes away, I had no phone reception or Wi-Fi connectivity. This is EXACTLY why I came here with my wife for our 29th wedding anniversary. We spent the time relaxing, hiking and hot tubbing. It was awesome!
The cabin was more than we had thought it would be. We were greeted with the stereo playing some spa-type music and we immediately started to unwind from our 6 hour trip. We brought all of our own food and cooked every meal there, though there is a restaurant on site that we did not use.
You are minutes away from Canaan Valley State Park and miles of trails to hike as well as several geo-caches to be found.
If you are still deciding if this is for you. STOP! Make the reservation now!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a skiing vacation (our children are grown and do not live at home and are perusing their careers) to Canaan Valley as we did many times when we were all younger. My wife made a reservation at the Golden Anchor Cabins in Canaan for the Hillside Cabin. What a great choice!!! The cabin was awesome with 3 bedrooms (one bedroom in the loft) and 2 baths. The cabin is the most well equipped facilities we have ever stayed in. The cabin has a gas fireplace, full kitchen, a fantastic living area, and the family favorite was a huge hot tub on the deck. You must meet Ron and Rolla who are the owners and the nicest folks you can ever meet!! The view is a wonderful vista of a West Virginia mountain range!! A must do again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Flemingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great view from deck, hot tub was wonderful on cold evenings. The cabin also has a great fireplace. Lots of kitchen amenities. The only problem was the lack of wifi in the cabin. We saw herds of deer outside of the cabin. Bring your own food from home, the kitchen is fully stocked and the local restaurants and grocery store are dubious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSUMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The cabin was perfect for an anniversary getaway. Warm and cozy, great hot tub and wonderful view to watch snowflakes fall. Convenient to ski slopes, hiking and parks. Take your own food-the kitchen is well equipped and restaurants few and far between.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theresa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Golden Achor cabins in 2009 for our honeymoon. We decided to return in June 2013. I must say that the cabin has gone downhill. It was not very clean. The mattress seems like it should have been replaced years ago. It sinks down in the middle. The couch could also use to be replaced. The hot tub is a nice touch but that too could use to be replaced. It's not a horrible place to stay but for the money they charge, I would expect better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

The cabins are beautiful and situated in a great location in the Canaan Valley -- great for hiking, horseback riding and more. The cabin we stayed in had its own private hot tub. The restaurant was nice and a short walk from the front porch.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erinkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dryfork
2.2 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
21.3 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Anchor Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Anchor Cabins

Property: Golden Anchor Cabins
Address: 18 Nautical Way, Dryfork, WV 26263-8522
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dryfork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dryfork
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six luxury log cabins (four honeymoon cabins and two family cabins). Located two miles south of Canaan Valley Resort on WV Route 32. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing