We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Super 8 motels can be inconsistent in quality and service. This one was clean and the beds extremely comfortable. One of the few with relatively quiet A/C. Super 8 breakfast is chintzy especially when you pay roughly the same price at other motels like Days Inn. We would stop at this one again. Watch out for the room safe charge. It's only $1.00 but you have to ask to have it removed from your bill if you don't use the safe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm pleased to hear you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We inspect and clean the AC's twice a year so they stay in good working order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Pet friendly and clean, our room was just what we needed after a long drive. Personnel - at the desk for check-in and check-out as well as the neat guy who just finished the nice landscaped sitting area in front - were all super.

I would not hesitate to stay here, or at another Super 8, in the future!

Room Tip: No elevator so a short flight of stairs to second floor. Another flight up for the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txwolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the positive comments! Our goal is clean, friendly and simply super!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a convenient place to stay, close to I-64 but no road noise. It was comfortable and clean. The Hallway seemed to have a stale smell but the rooms were fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for letting other travelers know our hotel is a great place to stop along the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our Super 8 in Dunbar made us a close visit to the funeral home and family. The hotel was clean, with friendly staff and a nice continental breakfast. We will stay there again in future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I'm sorry for your recent loss. Glad to hear you found our hotel clean and staff friendly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Curtiss N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very good room, clean and great location next to the interstate. Friendly nice hotel and cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Glad to hear we met our goal that each guest find our hotel clean, friendly and simply super!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
12.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
593 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Ave, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing