We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi Fi was not working the entire stay so I had to go to a nearby library; otherwise, OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wi Fi was not working the entire stay so I had to go to a nearby library; otherwise, OK”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was definitely the best Super 8 motel I have stayed in. It was clean and pleasant. The location was good, near many stores and restaurants. Fortunately the motel desk staff knew where there was a library within a short walk. Otherwise I would have really been in a pickle because this was a business trip and I needed Internet access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldmoviefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that our hotel was clean and staff friendly. I regret we were having issues with the Wi-Fi equipment during your stay. I understand how vital it is to a business person. I hope you will choose our hotel for your stay if you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    130
    118
    73
    36
See reviews for
177
104
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville Ky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stopped in for one night on a return trip from the east coast.
Hotel was clean and comfortable, no surprises. It is on the west side of town which can be confusing due to the way the city is laid out along the river.
We ate breakfast at Bob Evans so I can't comment on the free breakfast.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skychief2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the nice review. It is good to hear that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and would stay again if in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wasn't a bad place to stay if that is all you want. It is clean and the front desk is very accommodating. The breakfast in the morning isn't much. Not really set up for breakfast. It is a little noisy. The train came through about 2:30 in the morning blowing the horn so that did wake us about the time we were getting into good sleep. Ear plugs would have done well. Beds are great and comfortable and as I did say it is very clean. Although the noise is a deterrent I WOULD, yes WOULD, recommend this hotel for an over night stay. Again ear plus are recommended

Room Tip: Ear plugs. Might be a train at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know our hotel is a clean and friendly stop along the way. Our building was built when Super 8 only offered coffee in the morning, so we have had to adapt some through the years when we expanded our breakfast. I'm pleased to hear though that you would recommend the hotel to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is one of the better hotels in the Super-8 chain that I've experienced. I can't recall anything extraordinary, nor terrible about the stay. It's on par with what you'd expect of a budget place. The location is a bit out of the way having only a couple restaurant choices in walking distance (that's just a personal preference thing anyways)..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoxgdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and a good place for a stop over along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanan, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Super 8 motels can be inconsistent in quality and service. This one was clean and the beds extremely comfortable. One of the few with relatively quiet A/C. Super 8 breakfast is chintzy especially when you pay roughly the same price at other motels like Days Inn. We would stop at this one again. Watch out for the room safe charge. It's only $1.00 but you have to ask to have it removed from your bill if you don't use the safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm pleased to hear you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We inspect and clean the AC's twice a year so they stay in good working order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Pet friendly and clean, our room was just what we needed after a long drive. Personnel - at the desk for check-in and check-out as well as the neat guy who just finished the nice landscaped sitting area in front - were all super.

I would not hesitate to stay here, or at another Super 8, in the future!

Room Tip: No elevator so a short flight of stairs to second floor. Another flight up for the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txwolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the positive comments! Our goal is clean, friendly and simply super!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a convenient place to stay, close to I-64 but no road noise. It was comfortable and clean. The Hallway seemed to have a stale smell but the rooms were fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale S, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for letting other travelers know our hotel is a great place to stop along the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
994 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
5.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Property: Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
Address: 911 Dunbar Ave, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing