We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for the telescopes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Ridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunmore B&B and Inns
San Pedro, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for the telescopes”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Chestnut Ridge Country Inn while attending a conference at the nearby (10 minutes) National Radio Astronomy Observatory. We were very comfortable and made to feel at home even coming and going at odd hours. This place was the perfect place to unwind at night; the breakfasts were very good and the weather was wonderful too. What more can you ask? (maybe some good restaurants at a reasonable distance)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyk6znl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
44
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Springfield, VA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent a wonderful Saturday night and Sunday morning at Chestnut Ridge Country Inn. The hosts are very welcome and accomodating, and caused us to feel right at home. Our room was just what we wanted -- quiet, and extremely comfortable. The grounds around the house are very nice, with a stream and a small pond out back. Dunmore offers some nice evening walking. The dinner options are somewhat limited, so plan ahead for a wonderful time at Chestnut Ridge Country Inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our stay was more than pleasant. We were able to relax and enjoy the view from the Inn. Paula and Larry are charming hosts and made us feel welcome and want to return to their mountain home. Breakfast was great, well prepared and timely. I would not consider any other B&B on our next trip to the West Virginia logging railroad & mountains. Thanks so much, Stan Walton

Room Tip: Enjoy the peaceful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Center, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I received a warm welcome from Paul and Larry, and were made to feel immediately right at home. Our spacious room, with equally spacious bath, was comfortable and featured two wing-backed chairs, perfect for reading. Breakfast was delicious, and included some local specialties. We plan to stay at Chestnut Ridge again next winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Larry and Paula went above and beyond in order to make our stay special. I proposed to my girlfriend when we arrived at their B&B. In advance of our arrival, Larry and Paula spelled out “Will you marry me?” in rose petals on our bed, placed a heart balloon in the room, and chilled a bottle of champagne. Additionally, through their knowledge of the surrounding area, they helped us complete our planning of activities during our stay. All in all, they directly contributed to a wonderful weekend in beautiful, mountainous WV…

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_l_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

For a relaxing mid-week getaway we chose the Chestnut Ridge B&B, it was very convenient to all the things we wanted to do, ride the Greenbrier River Trail, visit the telescopes and museum at Green Bank, and ride the steam trains at Cass and Durbin. Our room was large and comfortable with a great breakfast each morning and coffee and tea are available at all hours. Paula & Larry go out of the way to make sure you enjoy your stay and we certainly did.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRIowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent two nights at the Chestnut Ridge Country Inn, which is very well located in the Pocahontas County. Paula & Larry made everything possible to make us feel at home, and they succeeded. They also provided a lot of advices about what to do and what to see in the area. The Snow Ridge room is beautifully furnished and very convenient. The breakfasts are unbelievable, and Paula even shared one of her recipes with us. We also appreciated the friendly evening chat with a glass of local wine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore
13.3 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
58 reviews
8.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
155 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
90 reviews
7.0 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Ridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

Property: Chestnut Ridge Country Inn
Address: 84 Dunmore Rd, Dunmore, WV 24934-9124
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Ridge Country Inn bed and breakfast lodging near Snowshoe Ski Resort, Cass scenic Railroad, Greenbrier River Trail and National Radio Observatory. We offer 5 large guestrooms with private baths and a cottage. We are family friendly and motorcycle friendly. We are within 6 miles of Greenbrier River Trail, National Radio Observatory and Cass Scenic Railway and 15 miles from Snowshoe Ski Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing