We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

In town for a wedding. Great views of surrounding area hotel. Location sits high and just out of town. Convenient to stores downtown restaurants college etc. Breakfast was very good. Food items not over cooked and fresh. Bed was comfortable.
Fridge in room. Comfortable desk chair to work as needed. Tv and simple bath toiletries. Water pressure good. Did not hear any other guests. Only issue was when the air conditioning went on in the room it was quite noisy. Over all very good stay. Recommend this location.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank crloganphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

A couple of choices are available for overnight lodging in Elkins, and we chose the Hampton Inn. The inn is located about two miles south of the historic downtown area on US 219. The hotel sits back from the road, on a hill, which gives a nice view out the front of the building. There is a Walmart nearby, if you need any snacks or other items.

Our hotel room was very nice. The bed, was very comfy with fresh white devet covers and all the linen a crisp clean white. The bathroom was also quite roomy with sink built into a wooden table, and shower was large with plenty of hot water.

Only downside was the internet speed. Almost non existent. Don't know why these hotels can't get decent internet access. Pretty much useless, although they said they were hoping to get an upgrade soon.

Breakfast in the morning was nice. They had two waffle machines for making fresh waffles and also had omelets and sausage as well as other items such as cereal, buns etc.

A very new and clean place to stay in Elkins WV. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheChief_Theboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and still this is by far one of the best hotels I have stay in (and I stay in quite a few hotels thoughout the country). Check-in is a breeze, the rooms are clean and quite, the staff is outstanding, breakfast is great and check-out is simple!

Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Haven't found a 'bad' room yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Sitting atop a hill off from the street, this hotel is clean and the staff is friendly, even a guy touching up some paint in the hallway. Room looked new and had nice linens and toiletries.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We wanted to ride the trains in West Virginia and decided to stay in Elkins, WVa. Every time we travel we look for Hamptons and this one is surely not a disappointment! It is pretty new and sits on a hill with views of the West Virginia hills that seem to go on forever.

Of course you are as particular about cleanliness as I am! This place is immaculate. The bathroom, the (extra large) room, the lobby, and even the pool. We thoroughly enjoyed both the workout room (my husband) and the pool (myself). We sat in the lobby and read the paper and watched the large flat-screen tv while we snacked on fresh coffee and cookies.

Hampton breakfasts are the best, period. I love the sausage! For dinner, there are numerous restaurants nearby; Bob Evans and Applebees are right at the end of the drive. Ride the Durbin Rocket and the New Tygart Flyer, then unwind in the Hampton. You will have a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bthomas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a newer hotel and didn't have a problem with anything. Our room was clean, the pool area was clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. I have not seen a good selection of breakfast items in awhile. Someone even came to our table and asked to take our dirty plates away and as soon as we got up someone cleaned it. Transportation to the American Mountain Theater was a nice freebie. Room was comfortable and roomy. Nice view since it's on a hilltop.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice setting, up on the hill, good size rooms and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooksville01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
293 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
41 reviews
22.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing