We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Digs for a Not-So-Basic Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkins Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elkins Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Louisville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic Digs for a Not-So-Basic Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you're satisfied with paying over $75 for a clean room with a comfortable bed, this place will do. However, if you like internet service that has some speed to it, if you like more than one tiny bar of soap, if you like a TV with a sleep timer, you'll find this place lacking. The in-room coffee wasn't replenished for my 2nd night, and the "breakfast" was coffee and some tiny muffins. If I'd paid $50 for the room, I'd have been satisfied, but I expected more for $75.

Room Tip: I'd opt for a 3rd floor room. Security? There's a state police post right next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyTourGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    30
    23
    35
See reviews for
30
39
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This place felt like you were in the hospital or a nursing home. I was expecting nurses to come in at night and give me meds or worse!!!
Old plumbing and an old HVAC systems are what really bugged me the most plus outdated bathrooms. No HVAC controls to adjust the temps. Steam Heat and an old chiller make up the HVAC system. Be ready to be scalded in the shower with hot water. Refrigerator control knob was stripped out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Was desperate so had to take a room at this hotel. Gave us a room that was so small I could not move. There was no fridge and ad said all rooms had one. There was no plug for my laptop and the batroom sink was outside the batroom next to the bed. Complained and got a much bigger room. Window looked out to a hall. Had to take elevator down three floors to check weather. Used to be a hospital. Had laundry in the basement where the morgue used to be. I swear I could smell the dead people. Breakfast was not a choice of bagel or english muffin. Staff was stupid. Gave us the wrong reciept for tor the wrong person. Noticed it too late. For the $100 a night I paid for this room I expected more. Will not stay here again not only was the hotel bad the whole area was.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The rooms feel like you're in a hospital. Probably because this building used to be a hospital. The rooms are small, the beds are stiff and old feeling, the sink is next to the bed, the AC barely works, the windows don't open well, the building feels run down, and it's just uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkins hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
0.5 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Elkins
Super 8 Elkins
#4 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Elkins Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkins Inn & Suites

Property: Elkins Inn & Suites
Address: 1200 Harrison Avenue, Randolph Center, Elkins, WV 26241 (Formerly Days Inn Elkins)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elkins Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Days Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing