We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was an excellent to stay on. Other reviews have been based on the old hotel now torn down. This is all brand new hotel. First the room is great and very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable. Loved them. Nice choice of different pillows. The bathroom had a nite light which was a nice addition Ina dark hotel. Very nice towels, and a very nice shower with strong water pressure. Over all our 4 day stay was outstanding and anything I come visit my kids we will be staying there.

Room Tip: Very nice view of the mountains in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    50
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
76
103
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff at the Isaac Jackson could not have been more welcoming. During our entire stay they always greeted us with a smile and a happy hello. Our room was spacious and the decor was great and the view from our room... spectacular! We also ate at the 1863 Restaurant while there and the food was cooked to our liking and we walked away satisfied.. For a small town, this hotel is the perfect fit. They have some chain properties they have to compete with and if they keep up this type of hospitality and care of their hotel they won't need to worry about anything.

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead... they are in the middle of adding a completely new building to this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abkleiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wasn't sure about staying here because of the mixed reviews. No reason for this though, the old rooms that people had issues with no longer exist. It is a brand new hotel. A large part of it was still under construction when we stayed so we got a crazy deal on the room ($59). Rooms could easily go for $100.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meggpegg, Manager at Isaac Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
John,
Thank you so much for calling out to people to ignore the old/bad reviews! That is so helpful to us. There's nothing we can do to remove the old reviews, because at one time, under previous ownership and before we started construction, those rooms did deserve those reviews. We can only wait and hope the old reviews get outnumbered and outweighed by new, good reviews. We are so glad that you enjoyed our new rooms and hope that you'll stay with us again if you're ever in our area.

Meggan Sexton
Marketing & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for one night on trip to Washington, DC. First, even though there is a large banner with the hotel's name on it, we drove by it twice looking for the hotel because of the construction site. The hotel itself sat back on the property and the office was "temporarily" in one of the hotel rooms while renovations were being done. Once you get past all the construction mess and get to your room, we LOVED IT !!! You could tell it had been freshly remodeled. The room was clean; the two queen size beds were lovely and comfortable with four pillows on each bed. Usually I have to request more pillows in other hotels, but not this one. A word to the wise. There are no fast food restaurants within walking distance. Fortunately for us, the hotel was a waypoint for our trip and we had eaten before arrival. Overall, I'd give the Isaac Jackson Hotel 10 out of 10 stars for comfort, cleanliness, and easy access to main highway. Would definitely stay again if in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meggpegg, Manager at Isaac Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and sorry that you had trouble finding us. We know it is a little difficult to know where to go in our current state of construction. We are working on getting some more signs up to help navigate people to the building on top of the hill. We hope you'll stay with us again if you're ever in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Place looks like a construction site right now but hidden in back was office and approx. 20 room. Rooms are wonderful, very clean and beds are comfortable. Can't wait till rest is complete, restaurant is renovated and we will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meggpegg, Manager at Isaac Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed our new rooms. We look forward to having you back again to try our restaurant and to see the progress of our new building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed in Elkins while skiing at snowshoe. This was by far the best value for the amazing quality of this new facility. We pulled up to what looked like an abandoned construction site but sure enough the lights were on. We were the only one's staying at the hotel for the two nights we were there but the room was pristine, very modern. Comfy beds and lovely furniture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkles731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guysville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are from ohio and rode our motorcycles down to the Elkins area in October. We had a hard time finding a room. We didn't know anythnig about the Isaac Jackson Hotel(booked on line), we were pleasantly surprised. Rooms clean and beautiful.... We will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
542 reviews
22.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
1.3 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
40 reviews
20.5 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaac Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Jackson Hotel

Property: Isaac Jackson Hotel
Address: 830 Harrison Ave, Elkins, WV 26241-3688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isaac Jackson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isaac Jackson is a boutique hotel offering casual elegance and sophistication in small town West Virginia. In addition to our hospitality, when you stay with us you will be treated to beautiful views of downtown Elkins and the surrounding mountains. Conveniently located near Elkins most popular attractions, you won't find a better place to stay while in town. We have Elkins' newest hotel rooms, having completed construction on 61 new rooms in September 2014. Our rooms are designed for relaxation, with all of the top-quality amenities: mini-fridges, coffee makers, free WIFI, and DirectTV in every room. Those finer details? We've taken extra care with those as well. From the high-quality shampoos to the real glassware, we've crafted every detail to give you an elegant stay. Breakfast each morning is included, and we are the only hotel in town with a restaurant on site, the 1863 Grill, so you're just a mere stroll from our chef's succulent steaks, BBQ, seafood, and more for lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Isaac Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing