We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night's sleep ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Best night's sleep ever!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While construction is going on you cannot beat the price to pay for staying here. When you are coming from rte 33 keep a close eye so you don't miss making a sharp turn off the road onto the lot. The hotel is up a hill with construction in front, but you will enter a bit down from it and drive up past the construction vehicles and over wooden boards to behind the second brick building and park behind that. You will enter from the rear door and on that floor in room 202 is where you register. Our room was large, bright and comfortable - beautifully decorated! Very comfortable mattress, comforter and pillows. Slept like a baby! The bathroom was a nice size, pretty and better quality toiletries. We had a refrigerator in the room and a large flat screen new tv with many channels. Modern alarm/ipod clocks. Once construction is complete, this room will be twice the price.
As far as negatives: Breakfast was bread, fruit and coffee only. The 1863 Cafe was still being renovated so was not open; however, we ate at Scottys down the road which was great so it all worked out. Our shower head squirted quite a bit of water out its side. Registration made an error and mixed up my charge card with someone else's room. We asked whether there were any Memorial Day activities in town and were told they didn't know, and they didn't offer to find out or offer any suggestions - so the staff was not that friendly - they were just basic. It would have been nice to have a tv channel guide, instead we had to scroll thru the channels.
With that all said, it is understood that there will be kinks when a place is being renovated and it did not detract from our overall experience. We would recommed staying here. Wishing you safe travels!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meggpegg, Manager at Isaac Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Joyce,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant experience and thank you for taking the time to leave us some very good points of constructive criticism. Our goal is to provide the best service in town, and now we have some concrete items that we can have our staff working on to improve our customer service. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Elkins, and that you'll visit again when our construction is complete.

Sincerely,

Meggan Sexton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    49
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
75
102
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I felt like we were the first to stay in the newly renovated rooms at the Issac Jackson. What could be better. Everything was very nice and it was espeically quiet. The beds and showers were great. We stayed in the back 2 story building and it does not have an elevator so if stairs are a problem ask for first floor.
They do not have a breakfast but we were able to get coffee. There is not really a sign out on the main street where to turn or directions through the construction lot.The hospital is directly across the street. It was well worth looking for and we were most pleased with our accomandations. Would love to go back and stay when the construction is completed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The outside of this hotel is a little rough because of construction work. Maggie met us in the hall way and was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds were COMFORTABLE!!!! If I had to say something bad it would have be that the water pressure in the shower was lacking. But thats it.....that is the only bad thing we could come up with. I would differently stay there again. I can't wait to see this hotel when it is complete. Oh yea, there is no elevator so if you cannot do steps make sure you let them know so they can put you on the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricketva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was very nice and new, and the place will be gorgeous in several months, but I did not expect to be staying in the middle of a construction site. The duvet and cover did not stay together properly and made it difficult to sleep. I was not able to figure out the drapery system, so I only had the sheer curtain covering the window. Breakfast was not available on site because of the renovation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This new hotel has beautiful, comfy clean rooms with all the needed amentities. The location is close to everything. It is not yet totally completed but the finished portion is top notch.... The customer service was over the top. I would highly recommend this hotel.... I plan to stay there any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vicki v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was an excellent to stay on. Other reviews have been based on the old hotel now torn down. This is all brand new hotel. First the room is great and very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable. Loved them. Nice choice of different pillows. The bathroom had a nite light which was a nice addition Ina dark hotel. Very nice towels, and a very nice shower with strong water pressure. Over all our 4 day stay was outstanding and anything I come visit my kids we will be staying there.

Room Tip: Very nice view of the mountains in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff at the Isaac Jackson could not have been more welcoming. During our entire stay they always greeted us with a smile and a happy hello. Our room was spacious and the decor was great and the view from our room... spectacular! We also ate at the 1863 Restaurant while there and the food was cooked to our liking and we walked away satisfied.. For a small town, this hotel is the perfect fit. They have some chain properties they have to compete with and if they keep up this type of hospitality and care of their hotel they won't need to worry about anything.

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead... they are in the middle of adding a completely new building to this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abkleiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
537 reviews
22.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
53 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaac Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Jackson Hotel

Property: Isaac Jackson Hotel
Address: 830 Harrison Ave, Elkins, WV 26241-3688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isaac Jackson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isaac Jackson is a boutique hotel offering casual elegance and sophistication in small town West Virginia. In addition to our hospitality, when you stay with us you will be treated to beautiful views of downtown Elkins and the surrounding mountains. Conveniently located near Elkins most popular attractions, you won't find a better place to stay while in town. We have Elkins' newest hotel rooms, having completed construction on 61 new rooms in September 2014. Our rooms are designed for relaxation, with all of the top-quality amenities: mini-fridges, coffee makers, free WIFI, and DirectTV in every room. Those finer details? We've taken extra care with those as well. From the high-quality shampoos to the real glassware, we've crafted every detail to give you an elegant stay. Breakfast each morning is included, and we are the only hotel in town with a restaurant on site, the 1863 Grill, so you're just a mere stroll from our chef's succulent steaks, BBQ, seafood, and more for lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Isaac Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing