We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff make a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived exhausted after driving through a snowstorm and were greeted by a very friendly staff. He helped us sort out a problem with out online reservation (not through any fault of Holiday Inn), recommended pizza delivery, provided plates, napkins, and a bottle opener. The room was adequate - pretty basic, actually - but it was clean, warm, and comfortable. The pool seemed to be pretty popular, but we were too tired to consider going down. The next morning, we grabbed a quick breakfast (reasonable selection) and drove an hour to Snowshoe ski resort. Overall, I would stay here again if in Elkins, particularly en route to Snowshoe. You can easily be on the slopes by 9:00 or 10:00 but pay a fraction of the cost on the mountain. (But I wouldn't do this for multiple days of skiing.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for staying. We are located within 45 minutes of 3 different ski resorts. We may be a more economical option to staying on the slopes. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    67
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
70
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
355 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent choice for a hotel in the Elkins area. It is clean and very quiet. The breakfast was on time and good every morning. The selection of tv channels is adequate but not excellent. My only complaint is that the WiFi signal was very weak in my room(204). This hotel was also a good value at $89 per night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We checked the amplifier for that end of the hall and it went out. We reset it so everything if working now. My goal is that everyone is comfortable enough here that they can come to any of us if something is not exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here while taking a trip on the Polar Express train, which is across the street. The hotel is very clean. We had room 125, which had 2 beds. Very clean room. The only complaint I had is there was a thumping in the wall beside us most of the evening, which was either the occupants inside the next room or a pipe. Other than that, room was great. The pool and hot tub looked very inviting but we forgot our suits. The breakfast was probably the best I've seen. Nothing ever ran out and everything was hot. The cinnamon rolls were fabulous! Overall, great hotel in a great location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review. The breakfast will be adding some healthier options soon too. Don't worry, we are keeping the cinnamon rolls. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean and and directly across the street from the Elkins Depot, which is the home of the Polar Express. This hotel has a indoor pool and free breakfast in the morning. The room was roomy and beds were comfortable. The hotel was very clean and had a 1200 checkout, which in nice if you like to sleep in. The cost of this hotel is priced well and an all around nice place to stay, especially if you plan on going on the polar express.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Usmctip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide you with everything you need with the convenience of our location. We are right across the street from the popular Polar Express. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel and staff. Ms Barbara in the breakfast bar is really nice and helpful. Love the cinnamon rolls don't get rid of those!
We stayed during the time the internet had just been changed so we have had no internet. Sometimes change is not always a good thing!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christytxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you stayed during our transition period. Now we have 40mbs for our guests. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Always glad to find this chain of hotels. This HIE didnt disappoint the beds were really nice and clean. The WIFI was easy to connect to and fast. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The free breakfast was very plentiful and they even had the trademark cinnamon rolls. Yummmmm...... The staff was also very helpful. Nice hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for your comments. Our goal is to provide you with all that Holiday Inn Express has to offer with the feel of small town hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I found this hotel to be excellent in every way. Check in for the 44 people on the bus was quick and efficient. Very clean, comfortable and well supplied room. Staff were all very kind. Brenda who was doing the deluxe continental breakfast for 2 of the 3 mornings was extremely helpful and friendly. One of the mornings there were 3 bus loads of people needing breakfast before leaving on a train ride. There seems to be no difficulty keeping up with it. We took walks around town each morning. The location of the hotel is prime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are used to dealing with large groups. People literally come by the bus full to this area. I will be sure to tell Brenda about your comments. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
21.9 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Address: 50 Martin St, Elkins, WV 26241-3442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Elkins, West Virginia. This new 69 room property is located minutes off of Rt. 33/250, near the heart of historic downtown Elkins, home of Davis and Elkins College, The American Mountain Theater, and The Durbin and Greenbrier Scenic Railroad. Visiting a customer or other local business? Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high speed internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the western foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, Elkins is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian Plateau. The abundance of mountains, forested terrain, and cold-water streams make fishing and hunting in this area a rewarding experience. Streams and rivers are stocked with both golden and brown trout which are actually hatched at the Bowden Fish Hatchery located 10 miles east of Elkins on US. Route 33. Randolph County - the hub of the mid-Atlantic ski region is just a short drive from any of the area's three major ski resorts. Canaan Valley, Timberline and Snowshoe Mountain Resort offer excellent downhill skiing opportunities. The region also offers an abundance of ungroomed cross-country trails on forest roads, mountain sides and ridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkins
Holiday Inn Express Elkins
Holiday Inn Elkins
Elkins Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing