We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed two nights. We had a room with a king bed, pull out sofa, microwave and refrigerator. The hotel is just a few years old, so everything was fresh and clean. The bed was comfortable. My only thumbs down was that the first night the shampoo that was in the room had been left by the previous guest (1/2 full), and was not replaced by the maid. That was a little bit of a turn off. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard...eggs (instant, of course), bacon/sausage, biscuits & gravy, donuts, cereal, toast, etc. All in all, a nice place to stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pediatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    67
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
70
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

My friends were booked into this hotel. 2 rooms. Hotel was overbooked and they were bumped to a lesser hotel. So beware, a guarnteed reservation at this hotel means nothing.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridian_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Large, comfortable room with king-size bed with comfortable mattress and pillows. Hotel staff was very accommodating with setting up an extra cot for our daughter and giving us extra towels. The room was quiet. We especially enjoyed the continental breakfast which included the most delicious cinammon rolls hot out of the oven each and every morning of our stay which was one week. The hotel staff kept our room meticulously clean and straightened it out with fresh towels and thorough cleaning of the bathroom each day. The pool and hot tub were enjoyed. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be the cranberry ice room freshener. All my clothes smelled of it when I got home. Otherwise, I hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMama02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I needed a place to stay to break up my trip and Elkins worked out nicely. I chose the HIE based on positive reviews and I had enough Priority Club points to book a room. They seem to require less points than many of the other Holiday Inn properties. Since they let me pick any room I grabbed the king with jacuzzi. That came in handy after hiking much of the day.

The room was huge, but more importantly clean. The bathroom's shower had good water pressure. The bed was OK for sleeping and the first floor was quiet on this evening. Lots of perks here with fridge, microwave, complimentary internet and a full breakfast in the morning. Just a basic TV in the room with plenty of channels. The pool, hot tub and workout room all had good upkeep.

The woman at check-in was helpful with all my questions. She suggested CJ Maggies for dinner and that was an excellent choice. It was within walking distance and the menu was huge. They had a seating area for families or groups, and a roomy bar if one wants to watch the game.

There aren't a lot of choices in Elkins, but I would put this hotel at the top. It's a good place to stay if passing through like I was.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a newer hotel in downtown Elkins. It's in a great spot if you like walking historic downtown areas. The room was clean and comfortable with no maintenance issues, though the mattress wasn't the most comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with sight-seeing suggestions. The continental breakfast offered good hot and cold choices. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Very management when assigning rooms. Placed in room on 3rd floor in nearly empty 3 story building near the elevator which when opening emits a loud "ding-dong" each time. Not great for am sleeping when people are checking in and out. Loud bunch of drunks in several rooms on the floor. Checked out early and drove to airport in Pittsburgh and slept there until flight... I am a Priority Member to boot... Platinum... ya I got the platinum you know what alright.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCyclops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Rooms are stark & basic. Staff are not too friendly. There are better hotels in Elkins! Not friendly to D&E College folks!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usamaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
21.8 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Address: 50 Martin St, Elkins, WV 26241-3442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Elkins, West Virginia. This new 69 room property is located minutes off of Rt. 33/250, near the heart of historic downtown Elkins, home of Davis and Elkins College, The American Mountain Theater, and The Durbin and Greenbrier Scenic Railroad. Visiting a customer or other local business? Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high speed internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the western foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, Elkins is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian Plateau. The abundance of mountains, forested terrain, and cold-water streams make fishing and hunting in this area a rewarding experience. Streams and rivers are stocked with both golden and brown trout which are actually hatched at the Bowden Fish Hatchery located 10 miles east of Elkins on US. Route 33. Randolph County - the hub of the mid-Atlantic ski region is just a short drive from any of the area's three major ski resorts. Canaan Valley, Timberline and Snowshoe Mountain Resort offer excellent downhill skiing opportunities. The region also offers an abundance of ungroomed cross-country trails on forest roads, mountain sides and ridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkins
Holiday Inn Express Elkins
Holiday Inn Elkins
Elkins Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing