We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service. A few things to work on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Certificate of Excellence
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Poor service. A few things to work on.”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here on a rainy day as part of a 15 day motorcycle trip. In all 5 days, this was the ONLY place that would not let me park my bike safely under the canopy, even though they had a wider canopy than every other hotel (I had parked on the edge out of the path of all cars, but they made me move anyway. Also, they advertise free wifi, but in 15 days this was the ONLY place where my iPad would not connect. When I complained, they gave me a tech sheet for PC's. They have to work on being guest- friendly. I will not return.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    54
    17
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
59
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here as the halfway point on a roadtrip. The hotel is nice and the rooms are comfortable. There are several restaurants within a 1/2 mile for a quick meal (personal recommendation: avoid the Chinese Buffet next door). One word of warning...if you use internet maps or GPS instead of looking out the car window to locate this hotel, you will not find it. The address show up as in downtown Elkview on maps, but the hotel is right next to the Interstate and visible from the highway

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmDd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

ours 16 year old son was on the way home from skiing when his car broke down at 11:00 at night with 3 hours left to go...he was alone...he walked to this motel the only motel he could see and they would not allow him to stay because he only had fifty dollars cash...we called with a credt card and they said they couldnt use a credit card over the phone that it would have to be faxed we told them we did not have access to a fax...we told them we would be there i the morning...they could take his fifity dollars and we would settle the remaining bill when we arrived to pick him up...they said no way...not unless we faxed the credit card front and back...we asked for other options...they said there were no other options...just before we got in our car to drive to get him we decided to call the 1-800 number and the customer service reps worked it out with the hotel staff...very frustrating and scary that people can treat other people this way...Richard...I hope you are reading this...and i hope no one treats your kids like this in a similar situation...we drove down to get our son the following morning and the manager...although willing to listen...offered no sympathy for this situation...only excuses..how they had been taken advantage of before...i hope everyone reading this review sees this hotel and keeps right on driving...thank goodness not everyone in this world treats other people this way.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liftpartsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Prior to our arrival we typed in the address, as listed on the hotel website, but ended up on a back/dead-end, gravel, one-way road and our GPS was showing "You have arrived at your destination". We called them to verify the address and when we told the receptionist that we were using GPS we were given an entirely different address.

Guests need to be aware of the correct "GPS" address to minimize detouring thirty minutes out of the way (like we did). The address on Crossing is not recognized by GPS systems.

Besides that, everything else was great. Now that we know where the hotel is (which is right off the highway, easy access) we will definitely stay here again if needed

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryrocks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We looked at several hotels in the Charleston area and thought they were either too pricey or the reviews were so-so. We stumbled across this one right before our trip and booked directly on the hotel chain's website. We got the special advanced purchase rate but was not charged until we actually showed up. Overall, the experience we had here for three nights was pretty good. The hotel is starting to show wear and tear. The hallway on the fifth floor was hot and had a foul odor but did not extend into the room. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent but most of the chairs had ripped upholstery looking rather tacky. The staff including the front desk, breakfast attendant, and the maintenance crew were all very friendly. The location is 11 miles north of downtown Charleston next to a shopping center that has a K-Mart, Radio Shack, Dollar Tree, Hallmark Store, CVS, and a Kroger. There is also a Bob Evans Restaurant next door. We got some really good buys at the K-Mart which had very friendly staff. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the shopping center parking lot. If you get a room on the south side, you get a beautiful view of the countryside. We would definitely stay here again if we ever return to the Charleston area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboy6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Our first night at this hotel was not good. Our room was very hot and the A/C worked only if I got up to kick it on and then would run for a few minutes and shut off. After reporting it, the staff immediately moved us to a different room and upgraded my family and I to a suite for the trouble. The beds in our standard room were not very comforatable, but we like soft beds. The suite had a very comfy bed. Needless to say, it will be suites for us in the future. The breakfast was outstanding. They had belgian waffles, egg and sausage patties, fluffy biscuits and gravy, fruit, bagels, cereal, juices. he hotel was very clean. Only problem was the pool. Water didn't seem properly treated and smelled a bit. Hot tub was out of service. Location is only minutes from the capitol and easily accessible from I-79. Surrounded by Bob Evans, McDonalds, Arbys, Kmart and a small strip mall. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gman2083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My mother-in-law passed away and my husband and I traveled from Minnesota to attend the funeral in Clay. From the minute we checked in until we left it was an absolute nightmare. The staff is rude and lazy, room cleanliness shabby with broken furniture and mold. In the rush to check out and dash to the funeral by 10:30 am inadvertently left my blood pressure behind. I was still in the area until about 8:00 pm and could have been reached by phone after housekeeping discovered the medication. Unfortunately, there was no call and I discovered the pills missing the next day. Trying to get confirmation of the pills location, again nightmare.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkview
8.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
9.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
13.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
13.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE
Address: 101 Crossing Shopping Mall, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North Elkview)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a good night's rest in one of our comfy beds, waking up to a healthy and hearty free Bright Side Breakfast is the first order of the day. At La Quinta Inn and Suites Elkview, we have guest rooms that will treat you with many of the comforts of home. Luxurious bedding and decor comes standard, and our rooms include amenities like a separate seating area from the bedroom, free wireless high-speed Internet access, 32" flat-screen TV with entertainment system, microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & board, and much more. With its modern decor and convenient amenities, the La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. We offer an on-site fitness center, indoor swimming pool which is open from 8am to 11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkview
Elkview Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing