We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff..Needs Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

All the staff from the front desk to the housekeeping were extremely friendly. The breakfast area is is desperate need of being updated. The carpet should be pulled up and a hardwood or vinyal floor should be put in so when there are spills they can be cleaned up more easily and not leave stains. Food was ok but yogurt should be served in individual cups not out of a big container.
The room was clean and for me the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstaz558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We typically find that the Country Inn/Suites chain is a nice stay for our family with roomy rooms, indoor pools, acceptable quality and reasonable value. Unforunately, this hotel did not deliver as the room was pretty low quality, and the breakfast and breakfast area were rather sub-par, the pool was closed for some sort of repair (no one had mentioned this either when we reserved or at the front desk). I don't tend to be a whiner, am willing to tolerate a certain amount of the unexpected, but get disappointed when it turns into a consistent theme. This location, while a good value, didn't impress. We've stayed at the other location (South) in Charleston, had a much better experience, and wish we had this time.

Room Tip: Tip: Drive 10 miles south to their other location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North and understand the frustration with an unclean room. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at ccare@carlsonrezidor.com so we can further discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We got a room that wasn't clean (carpet and dust), a shower with no shower head, an air conditioning unit that was loud and beds that were outdated and uncomfortable. The only bright spot was a very nice and handy maintenance man. I believe they are renovating...so maybe improvements are on there way!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingShaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is being remodeled right now and should be pretty nice in another month or two. The suite we stayed in was rather strange but nice and clean and had been remodeled. The front desk folks were very nice. The breakfast area was badly outdated but will be remodeled soon. The hotel in easy walking distance of several restaurants including a Bob Evans and a Ponderosa Steak House. Will be pretty nice once totally renovated.

Room Tip: Apparently it is being remodeled from the top floor down from what I could tell. Fairly isolated lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We did not get the type of room we had requested, were told in the morning they had a room with a king size bed, got two doubles. Have a special needs child and really needed a king size bed so he could sleep between us. Went back to the front desk, they acted indifferent, just said they didn't have one. Changed clothes to go to pool, got downstairs and sign said, "Closed due to guest neglect". Who puts a sign up like that?! I think it is insulting to guests and shows what they think of their guests. Just put a sign up that says, "Temporairly closed". Coffee pot in room, no coffee. Windows dirty. Carpet was so worn on looked dirty, didn't feel comforable with toddler playing on floor. Elevator felt like it was going to break. Charged for two nights stay, asked to correct it, they were to call back, never did. Contacted bank to dispute charges as we only stayed one night. Took almost a week, husband went in to talk to them twice, finally corrected, but took almost a week for them to do it. Country Inn & Suites are normally nice, this place, not so.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We apologize you were not given the room you requested for your stay. We also apologize the facilities were not available at the time of stay. We do understand how frustrating this must have been. We do know when you travel you want to feel like it is your home away from home. We would like to discuss your stay further. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. We look forward to hearing from you. ~Dana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My mother-in-law and sister-in-law and I stayed for one night in this hotel recently on our way back to PA from Lexington, KY. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We had a King Suite which had a pull-out sofa bed. The room was clean, smelled clean, and very up to date and modernized. It had a separate living area with it's own TV, separated with an acordian style door from the rest of the room. Bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and was exceptionally clean and well kept. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, lots of hot and cold items to choose from and not busy at all when we were there. I would stay here again if traveling through the area and recommend it to everyone. Not a bad thing to say about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3trip1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Driving from Oklahoma to Maryland (22 hours). I was too tired to drive the last 6 hours home, so I pulled into this parking lot. Clean lobby & friendly staff and a very comfy nights sleep (dead tired after 16 hours of driving). There is a Bob Evans (get the strawberry smoothie) & McDonalds steps from the front door. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again if ever in the mountains of West Virginia.

Room Tip: Get room on top floor (non-smoking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank july099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkview
10.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
11 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 23 in Charleston
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
16.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE

Address: 101 Crossing Shopping Mall, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North Elkview)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Elkview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Price Range: £83 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a good night's rest in one of our comfy beds, waking up to a healthy and hearty free Bright Side Breakfast is the first order of the day. At La Quinta Inn and Suites Elkview, we have guest rooms that will treat you with many of the comforts of home. Luxurious bedding and decor comes standard, and our rooms include amenities like a separate seating area from the bedroom, free wireless high-speed Internet access, 32" flat-screen TV with entertainment system, microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron & board, and much more. With its modern decor and convenient amenities, the La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. We also offer an on-site fitness center and have a guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview - Charleston NE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkview
Elkview Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing