We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service, but stinky accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
“Great customer service, but stinky accommodations”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a wonderful lady at the front desk, named Robin Stewart, who bent over backwards to help us, and although very busy she was very professional and kind. Wish the room had been as great as she was. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but there was a strong smell of mildew. Obviously, there has been water damage there. Think they need to rip up the carpets to get rid of the awful smell.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    43
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
56
34
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Two requests I had made in advanced were fulfilled at check-in. The front desk staff (on 3 different occasions) were so friendly and welcoming. My hat goes off to the housekeeping staff, who not only did a great job cleaning my room, but were as hospitable as could be. So, a nice, clean comfortable room (bought 4 pillows to bring home!) and kind and helpful staff made for a very good weekend for me.

Room Tip: I appreciated having a microwave and mini-fridge. Plus, the room size is larger than some of the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I want to thank philly for going above and beyond she saw me walking to my room trying to carrie all my bags and my toddlers she step right in helped me carrie my bags to the room she has the most heart warming smile she made me feel very welcome at the hotel she also suggested to go down and have dinner at the resturant how amazing the food was so i did just that it was very amazing just as she said because of philly i will stay here again again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When you first walk in to this hotel it looks so clean and inviting. But, when we got to our room, which was non-smoking, it smelled so bad that I had to try and sleep in the car. After 2 hours in the car, I got up to try again. I didn't get much sleep as it smelled so bad of smoke and I have asthma and was having a terrible time with breathing.

When we went for the complimentary breakfast that area was also clean and inviting. The food was good for a breakfast at a hotel like the normal stuff you'd get, waffle, cereal, yogurt, bagel, coffee, OJ, bacon, etc.

My suggestion is if you book here make sure you inspect the room if you don't like to smell cigarette smoke all night. It was terrible! Maybe some of the other rooms are better but we didn't have a choice as all along up the highway every thing was booked so we took what we got.

And, on a side note: At least the sheets were clean.

Room Tip: Don't go with a room till you smell the inside especially if you have breathing problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. I assure you that if the front desk staff would have been notified of the smoke smell and your asthma we would have been able to address the issue and possibly moved you to a different room. Although our hotel is "smoke free" we still have guests who smoke in our rooms from time to time. Our housekeeping staff tries their best to clean the room of the smoke smells once that happens with a special cleaner. Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

For the 16th year our family has returned to the Clarion, ( Formerly Holiday Inn) for our reunion . Great service, friendly staff, and good value is why we return year after year.
A big thank you to JR, (Gen. Mgr) , Kim , Ronnie, Brad, Amy and all the staff.

You just can't beat the hospitality!

Room Tip: 1st Floor, facing the pool, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience while staying with us. The entire staff is delighted to know you and your family had another successful and comfortable reunion this year. We are looking forward in assisting with planning the next reunion. We look forward in seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Clarion Inn, Fairmont has hosted our Family Reunions for many years now. The staff is so warm and friendly and always go above and beyond to meet our needs. The sales staff and catering staff where wonderful to work with. They again went above and beyond to meet the need of all family members 1 to 80. The kitchen staff made the, best Friday night appetizer buffet for our incoming traveling Family members along with a nice breakfast the next day and a good old traditional backyard bbq for Saturday nights gathering along with rootbeer floats and snow cones. Thanks so much Clarion Inn another successful Family Reunion ( 75 family members attended )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSmith1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am excited to hear you and your family had another successful family reunion again this year. It was wonderful to see everyone having a good time. The staff was very happy to assist with the planning and organizing of the functions and food services. Our food and beverage departmens take great pride in the quality our guests recieve. Again, thank you for your loyalty and we look forward seeing you and the family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed, and we really enjoyed our stay! The housekeeping was great. My housekeeper, Irene, was wonderful! She was great with directions! Very helpful! We will definitely be back on our next trip! The hotel itself was very clean! The pool was great, the kids loved it! The price of the room was a little more than I expected, but we were very pleased with our stay! Thank you to all the Clarion Inn employees for making our stay great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are excited to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel. Our goal is to ensure each of our guests leave with a positive experience and it is great to see we were able to deliver on our promise to you. Irene is a true asset to our team and genuinely cares about the service she delivers. Thank you for being a guest with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#2 of 11 in Fairmont
153 reviews
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Fairmont
104 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing