We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have the correct rooms that were reserved for us...very sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't have the correct rooms that were reserved for us...very sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff was nice at the front desk when we arrived but very unprofessional. Joking and cutting up with other guests while we were waiting for assistance. When it was our turn, they were feverishly seaching for rooms to satisfy the reservation we had made days earlier. Rooms were clean, hotel was clean...they eventually came up with rooms for us to stay after calling the ones they thought should be empty to make sure there were no guests in them, but we still didn't receive the kind of rooms that we had reserved. Now that would be embarrassing...walking into a room and finding it occupied! Breakfast was ok...the automatic pancake machine was a hoot. While the hotel did make an impression, it leaned towards a poor one. People want what they reserve.

Room Tip: Confirm your rooms morning of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that occurred while you were here staying with us. This usually is not the practice of the hotel not being prepared for an arriving guest. We will take proper percausions and be sure that the entire staff is more aware of what is going on with all incoming guests. We do hope that if you are ever in the area you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    38
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
29
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is modern and clean, and the first Holiday Inn Express I have booked this vacation because Fairmonts, Hamptons, and Best Western's have come in cheaper for the same spec of having breakfast and indoor pool, and no really adverse tripadvisor reports. I was interested in seeing how the $20 or so more expensive Holiday Inn would compare.

The feel is more upmarket, with more bathroom touches and better finish, and a quieter heating/cooling system. However on essentials, I would rate it above Best Western, but below Hampton and Fairmont on two important scores.

- Bedding: Pillows were good, but the sheeting and blanketing was skimpier than Best Western, and whatever was used as an underblanket was clammy.

- Breakfast: No cut fresh fruit, and no hot oat - very hard to find anything that would meet the needs of a gluten/dairy free diet. The worst of the chains in this respect. The hot egg/cheese omelette and bacon had been standing too long and I threw mine away as inedible.

We chose the hotel because of the great swimming pool, but unfortunately, the pool dehumidifier had a fault and the staff could not allow us to use it for health reasons. A tripadvisor report for a week earlier also notes the pool was closed. No discount was offered.

The hotel is sited on an east/west axis so that one side of the hotel faces due north. We were initially given a north side room, which we found very gloomy. The friendly front desk staff kindly switched us to a south facing room. (go for an odd numbered room). Although we ended up over the air-conditioners, they were quiet - might be different in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay. We are glad to here that we were able to get you a room facing the direction that best suit your needs. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being closed and lack of fresh fruit and hot oatmeal on the breakfast bar. Unfortunately, bananas are the fresh fruit of Holiday Inn Express but we do have instant oatmeal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was a new option in the area we visit. It was certainly a better option than the others in the immediate area. On check-in, I'm going to sound picky, but it wasn't a $130/night experience. The front desk clerk had on a plain t-shirt and no name tag. I wouldn't have thought she worked there if she weren't behind the desk. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was for the pool - I had two 8-year-olds with me. The clerk said the pool would be closed during our stay for maintenance. I understand things like that happen, but a reduced rate would have been appreciated, since I'm sure luxuries like a pool are reflected in the rate. Other than that, our stay was good. Our bathroom had a strange mildew smell but otherwise everything was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and had several options. I would stay there again because the other hotels on that exit aren't great. It's overpriced for the experience, though.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for letting us all know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being closed at the time of your stay. We do have dress down Friday with a dollar donation for adopt an angel at Christmas time in our area.
However, they should have a name tag so we will be sure to see that everyone gets a nametag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We wanted a stopover between our home in Baltimore MD and our first major destination in Bardstown KY. (We were beginning a 15-day circuit of ten states.) We chose Holiday Inn Express, but we couldn't find it on our GPS. The staff informed us that they were so new that BPS hadn't tracked them yet, and they suggested we come to the Crackerbarrel restaurant address, which was in front of them. The address worked!

We obviously weren't the first to learn of this new hotel; the parking lot was full when we arrived! But deservedly so! The bed was very comfortable, and the service provided both soft and firm pillows clearly marked (although my wife thought they felt the same!). I was impressed with the almost instant hot water and the earplugs provided for each guest.

The design of this Holiday Inn Express is quite novel. The dining area has windows looking out to both the pool and the exercise room to that both seem more inviting. This was a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillSteppinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for letting us and all others know that you had a very enjoyable stay here with us. We do hope that you choose us again if your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callaway, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We only stayed one night while passing through but were surprised at the quality for such a reasonable price. Nicely decorated, clean and a friendly staff. Our room even came with a mini fridge and microwave and separate seating area. Continental breakfast was nice. Only 18 miles from WVU so it is a nice place to stay while visiting there. We will definitely go back if in that area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for letting us know your stay was enjoyable. We get a lot of feedback on our reviews and are always happy when comments are made. We are happy to hear that you will choose us again if ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I'm not surprised this hotel was #1 - we had a very good experience staying here. We came for the WVU-Georgia State game and most hotels in Morgantown were booked. Loved the beds here - slept very well and sound. My husband used the gym both nights and said it beat the gyms at two other Morgantown hotels where we have stayed. Hotel was also very clean! We already have it booked again for parents weekend in October. It's a little far from campus and VERY DARK on I-79S when going to the hotel at night but still a great experience. Didn't get a whole lot of chance to try the breakfast - had to always run out each morning..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE_MOM815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for letting us and others know that you had a very enjoyable stay and we can not wait to see you again for Parents Weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stopped there on our way home from Daytona Beach on August 24th. The facility is brand new and the rooms very clean and comfortable. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the hot breakfast was great as well. We will be back again next year on our way home from Florida!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcoyote2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay and we cant wait to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#2 of 11 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Fairmont
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Address: 2256 Landing Ln, Fairmont, WV 26554-8245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Fairmont has all of the amenities of the Holiday Inn Express brand plus a well trained and organized staff to make for the most pleasurable stay. The hotel is a brand new property. The extra quiet rooms are complimented by Holiday Inn's Simply Smart Bedding Collection with the added choice of firm or soft pillows, these features will help insure a great night's sleep. Every room in the hotel is equipped with a microwave and refrigerator for added convenience. There is also a work desk or table in each room. Whether traveling for business or pleasure this extra area will allow you to stay organized while away from home. The 37" flat screen TVs are the highlight of the stylish decor. The hotel is outfitted with hard wired and wireless high speed internet. You may choose to start your day with the many choices from the free Express Start breakfast such as tasty cheese omelets, piping hot sausage patties or bacon and delicious cinnamon rolls. The other useful amenities are the heated pool and spa, the 24 hour fitness center, the business center, guest laundry and a meeting facility for business meetings, luncheons and parties. We are right off of Interstate 79. Take Exit 133 (Kingmont Rd.) We are located near the Cracker Barrel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Fairmont
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont Hotel Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing