We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep On Driving” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Keep On Driving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Needed to stop for the night due to fatigue and approaching storms with tornado warnings. Stopped at Comfort Inn & Suites in Fairmont, WV. Friendly staff, but the place was a wreck with renovations going on. Difficulty shutting the door to our room, mold in the shower, stained bedspreads, broken window (1st floor) that appeared to have been jimmied, loud room refrigerator, loud AC units from adjacent rooms, workmen in hallways sawing and hammering past 8:00 p.m. Wish we had tried another place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Please accept my apology for the negative experience you had during your recent stay at our property.
We are under new ownership and they are committed to making the necessary improvements. However, it is taking a little longer than anticipated and we have had some issues with our construction crew.
Thankfully, after a few changes with the work staff, we are moving along at a faster pace and without some of the previous issues that you experienced.
We are very excited about the renovation project and the work that will be done to the guest rooms and baths. We are almost done with the installation of an elevator and are waiting on the delivery of our new entrance doors. Once that is completed we will redo the lobby and public areas as well.
I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    24
    18
    18
See reviews for
34
35
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Despite the many negative comments about this place, we gave it a try based on the General Managers comments about new ownership and extensive renovations and because we found a coupon in the Travelers Coupon book. Overall we were sadly disappointed about the state of the place.

Starting with the 'bright side' - the hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient. Clearly the staff are the strength of this place right now. We were well cared for throughout our stay. The breakfast was decent - typical for a Choice Hotel, and certainly left us well fed and satisfied. The beds were comfy and the furniture in the room was mostly updated. Additionally, the new bathrooms off the lobby are tasteful and pleasant.

On the 'need for improvement' side of things, where to begin? The hallways smelled bad, as did the air in our room. Getting the air moving the room helped marginally. We put the fan on high in our room to dampen outside sounds while we were sleeping, but we were still awakened frequently throughout the night with sounds from within the building. We felt like we were sleeping in the hallway.

It is obvious that the hotel is undergoing extensive renovations - in part because of the mess in the lobby and hallways, but also because construction started before my family got up. Our wake up call was the sound of hammering.

The upgraded bathroom in our room was very tastefully done, but the workmanship was so poor that even I noticed (I'm not much of a handyman, but this was obvious to me): caulking around the sink that was smeared onto the new granite countertop making it look dirty, paint splatters on the new tile floor that were not cleaned up before they dried, chunks of paint falling off the newly painted door (it had not been sanded before painting and the paint was coming off), paint-smeared fingerprints on the new drop ceiling, to name a few. The new light fixture in the entry of our room was smeared with stucco from the recent ceiling job, but no one thought to wipe off the 8" smear before it dried. It's sad to see the potential of a really nice room undermined by shoddy workmanship.

On the cleanliness side, the new bath/shower combo was so dirty I wouldn't let my daughter take a bath ... which would have been impossible anyways since the drain plug was broken. After I cleaned out the hair from a previous guest and removed the spiders, I took a shower, being careful to avoid the areas where black mould was growing - overall a 9/10 on the 'Ewww' scale. There was also product from a previous guest still stuck to the sink.

While I appreciate that money and time are being invested in improving this hotel, it is by far the worst Choice Hotel experience I've ever had. I think it would be better to shut the place down until the renovations are complete rather than invite guests into a bad experience. I would be VERY unlikely to stop here again or to recommend it to others at this stage of its renovation. It is my first disappointing Choice Hotel stay. I would use the chain again, but not this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Lafayette, LA USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My Mom & I stayed at this property for 9 days. We chose this hotel for the convienent location (closest hotel to Crosswind Apartments where my son and his wife live). We needed a clean inexpensive place to stay while we helped out with a new grandbaby. I got a great deal on HotelCoupons.com making this the perfect choice for our situation.

Marshal was extremely friendly and helpful during check -in. The hotel was installing an elevator and renovating rooms which made it a little tricky to find a room that did not require us to move in the middle of our stay. Marshal booked us on the first floor so Mom would not have to climb stairs. Our room was very clean, comfortable, equiped with a small refrigerator and microwave oven. This was perfect for our extended stay.

We enjoyed breakfast every morning: which included egg, sausage patties, yogart, fresh fruit, instant oatmeal, waffles (two different flavors that changed throughout our stay), danish, toast, milk, juices, coffee, tea and instant cocoa. The lady in charge of the breakfast area did a fantastic job of keeping the tables clean and food and beverages well stocked.

Housekeeping was friendly, we opted not to have the room serviced daily- just replenish the linens and toiletries as needed.

The front desk was very helpful with giving directions to help us get around Fairmont. They all got to know us pretty well and would ask how the baby was doing when they saw us.

The only drawback during our stay was our upstairs neighbor was heavy footed and the internet was a little iffy at times. Neither were major issues. The friendly staff made this stay worth the minor annoyances. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Book early during the week. Hotel fills quickly with construction workers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisegdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. It is always a pleasure when someone enjoys their stay at your property and takes the to write a review. It shows us what we are doing right and on what areas we need to improve upon.

As you know, we are in the process of a total renovation and we're very excited about the work that is being done. We will have all new guest rooms and baths with the addition of an elevator and new entrance doors. We can't wait to see our "new look" and I hope you will consider staying with us again in your future travels.


Sincerely,

Elizabeth P
General Manaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

OK, I don't have a mule but you get where I'm coming from. Some might describe this place as a "classic" or "original style" Comfort Inn, but don't be fooled. It's tired and in desperate need of something drastic. The room was basically clean but the beds, were in a word, soft and well used. The best part of our one-night stay was the warm and friendly reception we received from the Front Desk. Breakfast was standard Comfort Inn.
Must be something better for the same price down the road.

Room Tip: Go for another property if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I'm pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our front desk agent. However, I do apologize for any problems you may have experienced.
Thankfully, we are in the process of a total renovation which will include all new guest rooms and new beds. The new design for the bath rooms are wonderful and very up to date and modern. We are also installing an elevator and new entrance doors to go along with totally renovated lobby.
In your future travels I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The desk clerk was helpful but that is the only good thing I can say unfortunately. The maintenance is poor (owners must be saving money)! Patch job in bath tub and peeling wallpaper. There was a musty smell in our room. Could not decide whether it was used by a smoker or just plain mould. Breakfast was adequate. Price higher than other Comfort Inns. Would not have stayed had we a choice (availability not great when travelling before Christmas and a Friday night to boot). Try to find another place either in Fairmont or another nearby town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairmontcomfortinn, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I apologize for any problems you may have experienced while staying at our property. However, I would like to let you know that we are under new ownership and they are aware of issues with room condition etc. They are committed to improving our property and have started a total renovation project. We're very excited about the improvements that are to be done to our guest rooms and bathrooms. When our renovations are completed, we will have all new rooms, public areas with the addition of an elevator.
I hope that you will consider giving us another chance and stay with us again in the future.

EP General Manager Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel appears to be under reconstruction and the outside looks OK -- with new stonework, siding etc. -- but the interior is a dump. CHOICE HOTELS SHOULD NOT ALLOW GUESTS TO STAY HERE until it is totally renovated. The plusses: a comfortable king bed and a good breakfast. The minusses: paper-thin walls (we could hear normal conversations, the engine-like air conditioner, and the TV from the next room) and no sound blocking between the room and the hallway; mould all around the bathtub wall liner; years of unwashed handprints on wallpaper near lightswitches; peeling wallpaper and paint; exterior room window that is ready to fall apart; smelly (and ugly) hallways.

Room Tip: as far away from this hotel as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairmontcomfortinn, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel fortunately we are under new ownership and have recently began a full renovation. We have also addressed the cleanliness issues you stated in your review and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

MM Asst General Manager Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews and almost didn't stay here. The bed was fantastic. Room 144. It is dated but clean and comfortable. It is very quiet and had a nice breakfast. The desk staff were very nice and allowed us to see the room prior to paying. I would recommend it even though it is currently being upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SShortliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairmontcomfortinn, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback we here at The Comfort Inn appreciate all feedback and i would like to let u know our crew has been working hard to move along the renovations and get the rooms updated for you and other guests enjoyment we hope you'll stay with us again soon and until then be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#2 of 11 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1185 Airport Road, Fairmont, WV 26554-9283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Fairmont
Comfort Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing