We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He man”
Review of Poky Dot

Poky Dot
Ranked #7 of 86 Restaurants in Fairmont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“He man”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I ordered the He Man Breakfast, only $13.99....a ton of food, all well cooked...the food was good, the place looks great and is close to my family's place. Eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage (two ways), toast, biscuits, and it was served on a garbage lid. I could not eat it all but that's not what I was going for. Voted top 50 Breakfast in America!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    55
    19
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The desserts are fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My grandmother was born and raised in Fairmont. We took a day trip so she could show us around, and The Poky Dot was where she wanted to stop and eat. It was really busy at lunch time on a Sunday. I had a cheeseburger wrap, and it was ok. My daughter loved her meal that was delivered in a cool little airplane. The desserts were amazing! We had the oreo cheesecake and the giant banana split. Wow! The 5 of us could hardly make a dent in that ice cream. It was a fun stop.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
295 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have made the Poky Dot a frequent stop on our football trips to Morgantown. This last trip we even picked a hotel that was close by so we could walk to the restaurant for early Sunday breakfast.

First I have to say we had no problems with the service which was friendly, courteous, and prompt.

We had a party of 4 and none of us were happy with the food.

The worst of our meals was a scramble egg with Cheese. The eggs had no flavor, and instead of cooking the cheese into the eggs they took a slice of American cheese and threw it on top of the cooked eggs. The cheese barley melted and sat on top of the eggs as a square blob.

The wife ordered her normal blueberry pancakes which used to be large, fluffy and loaded with berries. This time they were flat thins disks with a minimal amount of berries.

I ordered 3 eggs over easy, bacon, and hash browns. The bacon was good, but the eggs were over cooked and the hash browns had an over garlicky flavor.

The other member of our party was not happy but preferred not to comment on his meal

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountaineer_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poky is right.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went on Sunday for brunch. We were seated in the back. We were given menus and drink order was taken. After 20 min we did not have a drink or our order taken. Meanwhile two other couples came and got service. Table next to us was attended to by the waitress three times while we sat bored and hungry. We left because we were annoyed and ignored. Will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Funky local place!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Fairmont on business and was taken here for lunch. This place is Adorable!! The atmosphere is so unique and they have plenty to choose from on the menu. Great spot for lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Poky Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing