We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful place”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I had an awful experience on this hotel. They did not honor my reservation even with email conf. Diann at the front desk called while I was out to go pack or she would do it for me. Ran back to hotel just to be threatened to be escorted out by police. Place is disgusting and dirty. Found old food in the fridge. Stained towels. Please don't stay there!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I am very sorry to hear this. You had a reservation and changed the date and we were sold out and could not accommodate another night stay. We were unable to honor your request to cancel a new guest coming in so that you could stay. If you would like to discuss this please feel free to contact the Inn. We try our best to take care of our guest and their wishes however sometimes that is not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    64
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
70
40
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Due to limited options and its ranking on tripadvisor, I decided to try this hotel; my first Red Roof Inn experience. Typically I go for "higher end " brands but wanted to check this one out due to the upgraded rooms. Although not a big factor for me I did find the outside appearance of the hotel not too appealing. People were friendly during check in and out.
The room itself was clean but a bit dingy and dark. The microwave, fridge, LCD TV, wifi, climate control were all functional. Glad I chose the superior king as recommended. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet enough that I did get a good night's sleep which is the biggest factor to me.
Though not a slam dunk I'll consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagger_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank You for your feedback. Now that the weather is clearing up we are starting to work on the outside of the building. I am glad you got a good night sleep. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardington, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a dog show in nearby Morgantown. Hotel is in a very convenient area(have to look for sign), nice grounds, CLEAN rooms. Very nice staff. We had two mastiffs with us and the room was perfect. Angie, the supervisor, was super nice, as well as the housecleaning service people. We stayed three nights and it was quiet and we got rest. The hotel was booked yet very quiet area. Pipeline workers were staying here and no noise, no late night commotion, it was a great stay. Reasonable price and close to all kinds of shopping and restaurants.
We also visited nearby Prickett's Fort, Valley Falls State Park, Tygart Dam, and Cooper's Rock. Local residents, (Thank you young ladies at the wonderful dog park!) recommended Cooper's Rock and it was gorgeous! Well worth the stop to see it! We will plan to stay at this Red Roof Inn each year for the dog show. Very dog friendly. Hotel grounds VERY clean and well taken care of. Would highly recommend this hotel to stay in! Thank you to all the staff there!

Room Tip: Rooms at far end of buildings are better if you have a dog to walk. More grass for walking your dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megadew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. Your dogs were beautiful. Our staff here are animal lovers. I am so glad you were able to see some of the beautiful attractions in the area. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed at the Red Room Inn Fairmont a few years ago and was disappointed with the outdated rooms. At the time I had no interest in staying at this hotel again. But when I read that the rooms had been recently renovated, I decided to give this hotel another try. And yes, I was very pleased with our updated, comfortable room. Now I can say that I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We prefer the Superior rooms which offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You so much for giving us another chance. I am so glad to hear about your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here as a layover during a road trip. We were here just to sleep, but overall it was fine. It was clean and looked somewhat updated, the TV and all the other appliances in the room worked well. Overall, it's a decent value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammerguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank You. We appreciate you letting us know about your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was my first experience with a Red Roof Inn. I was expecting more given the reviews and the room rate. This location was supposed to have been fully renovated but it needed a good cleaning. There were dirty hand marks on a panel that ran along the wall just below the ceiling. The heating system and pumping make a lot of noise at night. One of the bedspreads was soiled and the carpets needed a good vacuuming, especially in the corners.
The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean so we decided to stay the night instead of looking for another hotel. I don't think we will use Red Roof Inn again.

Room Tip: The building is on two levels. If you cannot climb stairs request a room on the main floor when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan1234x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I am truly sorry about your stay. I assure you this is not our norm and is not acceptable. Please anytime you stay some where and there is a problem please contact the front desk so we can take care of it right away. We would have been happy to move you to another room had we known about this issue. Again I apologize and hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Tn
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wow! What an improvement from Dec 2012. New carpet, linens, flat screen TVs. Stayed in an king, ADA room with roll-in shower.
NO complaints. Have put this as a good stopover point on my drives from TN to the Northeast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank You. We appreciate your review and the opportunity to show you the upgrades we have done. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 11 in Fairmont
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 11 in Fairmont
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Fairmont
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Fairmont

Property: Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Address: 42 Spencer Dr, Fairmont, WV 26554
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Fairmont 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-79, the closest Red Roof to Fairmont State University, 6 miles, and West Virginia University, 25 miles, we are also just one and a half miles from Industrial Park, NASA Boulevard, Technology Drive, and the National White Collar Crime Center. Taylor County Fairgrounds, Tygart Lake State Park, and the FBI Facility are both within a 20 minute drive of this hotel. This Red Roof is close to several restaurants and a cinema and we offer free WiFi! When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, and a large, flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Red Roof Inn, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing