We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New River Gorge Education!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Country River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayetteville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“New River Gorge Education!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The name "Country River Inn" brings visions of a quaint log cabin nestled among trees and perched next to a beautiful river; the reality is that the name is a bit misleading. The "inn" is really a re-purposed school just outside of downtown Fayetteville. But don't get me wrong, this place does not have the sterile locker-flanked halls of your awkward adolescence. Rather, it's a comfortable way station for relaxing on the deck by the pool or Jacuzzi before retiring to the most clean and comfortable "classroom" you've ever slept in.

The owners of this re-purposed school were friendly and flexible when we arrived after our estimated check-in time, and again when we spent a morning hiking and requested a late check-out (~2PM). Our well-equipped "classroom" was on the second floor (#4) and included a microwave and mini-fridge. The complimentary breakfast passed the grade with scrambled eggs, 2 sausage links, a hash brown patty, a biscuit, as well as orange juice and watermelon; definitely above and beyond continental style expectations. Overall, this will be the most comfortable and friendly school experience you've ever had.

If you're looking for a convenient launch pad for exploring Fayetteville and the New River Gorge, this is the only place I can recommend in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just finished a stay at the Country River Inn. Counldn't be happier. Great value for the money. The place was clean, clean clean. Very close to all attractions. We went hiking, great views of the New River Gorge. Any questions you have about the area are easily answered by the owners. I'd stay again. There's a pool and a hot tub. Rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopperjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Country River Inn was a great place for us to stay to see the New River gorge. The inn is charming, immaculately clean, quiet and comfortable. Rick and Lois are great hosts who make you feel right at home and we very much enjoyed talking with them about the history and sites in the area. Polly, their dog, was a delight as she greeted us from our return from hiking and biking each day with such excitement. The location is great - just minutes from the many trails with beautiful views of the gorge, close to the restaurants downtown and close to the whitewater rafting. I would highly recommend this inn for anyone traveling to Fayetteville, WV. If we return to the area, we will definitely return to the Country River Inn!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Rick and Lois were the most wonderful hosts who made us feel warmly welcome and were very informative about the local area. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was continental style but with some variety each day. We all made great use of the swimming pool and hot tub which were perfect after a day walking in the heat or making music at Clifftop String Band Festival. Thank you Lois and Rick for a great stay! If we ever make it to Fayetteville again (hope so!) we will definitely return to The Country River Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeevesofnorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This inn is a must stay! The decor is simple but appealing. The room, common areas and dining room were absolutely immaculate! Rick and Lois were great hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them. If you are ever in the Fayetteville area, stay at the Country River!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Rick and Lois,

Thank you so much for making our 1st trip to West Virginia wonderful. The Country River Inn was fantastic. The rooms were clean, host and hostess great ...... It was cozy, great location and relaxing. Home away from Home! They have a pool, deck and a wonderful jacquzzi to use after a wild day zip lining on the canopy tree tops and riding the Class VI white water rafting trip. Also, I need to mention Polly their dog....If you are a dog lover, she is the loveable.

Room Tip: Excellant place to stay......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I recommend folks staying at this hotel. The owner and his family were very nice. The hotel is clean and if there is anything you need you can ask and they will bring to you. i stayed there on June 4-10. This was for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
18.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
3.1 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
0.9 mi away
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country River Inn

Property: Country River Inn
Address: 9060 Gatewood Rd, Fayetteville, WV 25840-9005
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country River Inn provides clean and comfortable accommodations in a quiet country setting. All of our rooms are non smoking with a private bath and walk in rain showers, 2 queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, individually controlled heat/AC, and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing