We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayetteville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family and I stayed two nights and it was one of the best B&B experiences we've ever had. Rick was a most gracious host and gave us wonderful information about activities in the Fayetteville/New River Gorge Area. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty. Our room was spacious, incredibly comfortable and well-appointed. Undoubtedly, our experience was enriched knowing that Rick himself did almost all of the work in gutting the school and transforming it into the unique inn that it is today. Just a couple minutes outside Downtown Fayetteville! Our room was spotless!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Country River Inn. Rick, the owner, was very friendly, accommodating and helpful, offering suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc. The room was clean and comfortable and had a small fridge which was nice. The patio with a pool and hot tub was another nice perk as we were able to relax there at night. The location is great, a quick drive to town, hiking/biking trails and the nearby highways. Would definitely recommend staying at the Country River Inn if in the Fayetteville area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I wasn't really sure where to stay on my first visit to the New River Gorge area, and really lucked out by choosing to stay in Fayetteville (the town closest to all the activities and sites, and with the most restaurants), and especially by booking with the Country River Inn. I truly love unique guest houses and accommodations, and this one is full of charm.

The location is just a mile or two outside of town - it only takes about 5 minutes to get there, so don't fret. It's in a quiet, idyllic country setting, which is lovely. Be sure to get directions from the owners or their website, because GPS may not always be reliable - and call if you get lost! As you have probably already read, this B&B is a renovated school house -- and that's exactly what it looks like, with its red brick walls and green trim. Don't let the outside fool you - the inside is clean and comfortable, and the decor is, not surprisingly, like a country inn. In fact, it's shocking how clean and updated the inside of the building is - the owners really deserve credit for the renovations. They really did a great job, and should be commended with how well the building and the space have been re-purposed. The lower level, which used to be the cafeteria and kitchen, is now appropriately the kitchen and breakfast area, along with the check-in desk and a sitting area. The classrooms used to be upstairs, which is now where the six bedrooms are. The walls are thick, since they are brick, therefore the rooms are very quite (nice!).

The rooms themselves are generously sized, each with two comfortable queen-sized beds which are piled with pillows (awesome!). The vanity and sink are outside of the bathroom (brilliant), along with a hairdryer. There is a TV (we never even turned it on), a small microwave and mini-fridge, a small closet area, and two suitcase stands (yay!). There are also plenty of electrical outlets, which is very appreciated. The bathroom is clean and updated, with a nice rain-showerhead and plenty of towels. There is a toiletry dispenser in the shower with shampoo, conditioner, and liquid soap. The only suggestion I would have for the bathroom would be additional towel racks, in the event that extra towels were used for the pool or hot tub, or even if you're just trying to hang all 4 towels up to dry at once.

The raised wooden deck out back has some tables and chairs, and a small swimming pool and a hot tub, both of which were clean and comfortable. The deck is surrounded by a small yard and backed up against some trees. We very much enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub after a day of hiking, watching the stars and the fireflies.

There is complimentary WiFi throughout the building, but it works best in the breakfast area near the wireless router. I didn't have trouble connecting on my PC, but my friend had difficulties with her iPad. The owners are aware of the troubles with apple products and the router, and I believe are looking into a solution.

Speaking of the owners - it was a slow weekend, so we only had the pleasure of meeting Rick (his wife, daughter and dog weren't there), but he was a fantastic host. He was friendly and helpful, always happy to chat with us, give us information, and provide recommendations for things to see/do and places to eat (all of his recommendations for restaurants were spot on). He cooked us a lovely hot breakfast each morning (eggs, sausage and biscuits/jam one morning, blueberry pancakes and sausage the next - each time with juice and coffee/tea),and then spent time visiting with us, making sure all of our needs were met, and giving us tips for sightseeing or other information about the area.

Overall, I would very much recommend this B&B. It's clean, comfortable, unique, in a convenient location, and you'll feel right at home with Rick and his family taking care of you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A perfect place to stay, immaculately clean, & spacious rooms with small fridge, microwave & rain shower head. Rick, the owner is very friendly, helpful, attentive & cooks a great hot breakfast! Not too frilly, not too shabby, just right! I wouldn't stay any where else!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patti j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here as we passed through the state returning from the coast. Thought staying on an old school would be unusual, which we love. This is a 1980s type elementary school. Not impressed. First, couldn't find the place! The owner had said that GPS had trouble locating it but the fact that they only have a sign visible going in one direction on the road made it worse. There is a small sign on the end of the building unrelated to the inn which was additionally confusing. Car in parking lot with flat tire, also big old (ugly) mobil home parked up by the door. We were the only guests so I assume those belonged to the owners. Room was ok. Nice shower. Good bed. Breakfast was not great. Frozen type hash brown patty, brown and serve sausage, canned biscuits with scrambled egg. There is a pool (closed while we were there-early in the season) and a hot tub which was open (didn't use) Watch the step down onto the deck. Not well marked and I fell coming out of the building into the sunlight. Owner said most customers are about our age (65-70). Inn not great-not terrible. Good pizza place in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We looked through reviews of various facilities before deciding to stay here. The family that runs the inn are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are amazingly clean, spacious, and comfortable. We both slept like logs (partly due to our hectic schedule but also because of the comfort of the beds and lack of noise from other guests). We were intrigued by the idea of a converted school house and couldn't even tell that it had been a school house at one time. They did a great job with renovations. There is a cafe/dining room on the main floor where breakfast is served: delicious eggs, hash browns, biscuits, and juice (and sausages if you're not vegetarian like myself). The breakfast is served hot (you just let them know the day before when you would like to eat). Although there is no wifi in the rooms, wifi works well in the cafe, and no problem with being in the cafe during off hours (I'm a morning person and wanted to get some work done before we set off for our latest adventure). I would highly recommend staying here and would definitely come back. The location is very convenient to Adventures on the Gorge and other activities, as well as downtown dining options, etc. They even provide a list of suggested trails and restaurants. Great people, service, and accommodations!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a nice place to get away from the hubbub of daily life. It is in a serene and natural setting where one can appreciate the pleasure of simplicity. The inn is clean and uncluttered and the innkeeper was kind and helpful. We went to this area for rafting, and this inn is very close to a base camp. There are several nice restaurants nearby, and also a mini fridge and microwave in the room for the nights that we just wanted to have sandwiches and chips and watch movies (translation: Mom was too tired to go out after a day on the river). The jetted hot tub at the inn was a nice relief for sore muscles. Overall, we had a great end-of-summer getaway here. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious, and we all especially enjoyed the company of little Polly. We would definitely come back here again to enjoy beautiful West Virginia!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 980ClaudiaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
18.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
0.9 mi away
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country River Inn

Property: Country River Inn
Address: 9060 Gatewood Rd, Fayetteville, WV 25840-9005
Region: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country River Inn provides clean and comfortable accommodations in a quiet country setting. All of our rooms are non smoking with a private bath and walk in rain showers, 2 queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, individually controlled heat/AC, and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing