We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian elegance with modern amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonnie Dwaine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glen Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

As advertised, the Bonnie Dwaine is truly Victorian elegance with modern amenities. The common rooms are filled with antique furniture and accessories. Our suite featured with white wicker furniture and included a sitting area by the fireplace, whirlpool suite and wi-fi access. The continental breakfast on Friday was as advertised. I had looked forward to a hot breakfast on Saturday, as their website claims:
"A candlelight gourmet breakfast is served Saturdays and Sundays, other days by request, in the formal dining room. Monday-Friday an extended Continental Breakfast is provided. Daily offerings include fresh fruits, juices, hot breads, and a gourmet entree. Cereal and yogurt are always available."
However, it was just the same continental breakfast on Saturday. This is really my only complaint. Other than that, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Although located in Glen Dale, WV, this establishment is just minutes outside of Wheeling. The Victorian ambience is fantastic, and the service by Bonnie and Sid is friendly and hospitable. Each room is decorated with TLC and is beautifully appointed. The main downstairs rooms are filled with gorgeous chandeliers and lovely family heirlooms where one feels like a member of a royal family. There is a lovely porch/deck that swings around the side and back of the house where morning breakfast or afternoon snacks can be enjoyed. Each bedroom is decorated with a particular Victorian motif and adds to the charm. The beds are comfortable as well. Definitely a 5 star rating facility. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipandmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've stayed at the Bonnie Dwaine several times, once for almost a week. The folks are delightful, the rooms charming and comfy, the Sunday breakfast a wonder. And quiet? You'll think you're on a different planet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were recently given reservations at Bonnie Dwaine as a gift by the parents of a groom we were in town to marry. They were trying to make us as comfortable as possible and accomplished just that. Bonnie, Sidney and staff were absolutely wonderful. They opened their home to us as if we were family, except they put out the good china and created a masterpiece of a meal on Saturday morning, which no one in their right mind would do for family. Imagine how surprised I was when, out of curiosity, I checked the rates online and found them to be the cheapest in town. Our room was immaculate, the location was convenient, the staff was prompt and courteous, and I would put my most honored guest in this B&B with no reservation (pun intended). The only thing that I could recommend to make it any better would be to pick it all up and move it 1/2 mile off the highway, but then it would not be the same, would it?!?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thanks to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers, we found this quaint, clean, convenient B&B just outside of Wheeling. The rooms were spacious and full of small touches, which show how much thought the owners put into renovating the old house - lots of chairs, handy mirrors, and other little things that sometimes negatively differentiate a B&B from a hotel. We were there during the week and enjoyed the "enhanced' continental breakfast with its wide array of choices of cereals, bagels/toast, pastries, etc. The staff were very nice and helpful, too. Convenient to Wheeling, Moundsville, Pittsburgh (about 1.5 hours), and other places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Bonnie Dwaine B&B- Great place to stay. Enjoyed ambience, step in the past with the convenience of modern amenities. Minutes from Wheeling, WV. and Didn't realize that we were miles from the former Moundsville, West Virginia Penitentiary. According to the flyer they have Halloween tours...

Took a drive, turned down a street and found we were on Brad Paisley's street were he grew up. (just a few blocks from the B&B).
Our gourmet candlelight Breakfast was excellent!
Missed meeting Bonnie, We'll be back..through the Ohio Valley.

Be sure to visit this wonderful home!

Located at 505 Wheeling Avenue, Glen Dale, WV

1-888-507-4569

Room Tip: We looked at all the open rooms- all looked wonderful - stayed in the 3rd floor room - small halway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarmWater_Deep_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were in Bonnie Dwaine Bed & Breakfas for a wedding. Stayed at this place because it was on the bridal web site. Found it to be a nice, quaint place. We rented a 2 room suite that slept 6. Only one bedroom other sleeping was in the living room but great for a family. Room had a kitchen and we found that they provided us fruit which was a nice surprise. The rate for this area was very reasonable. And my most important feature it was very clean!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lora s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Dale
11.7 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,237 reviews
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Moundsville
7.9 mi away
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
20.7 mi away
Montgomery Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Dwaine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Dwaine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 505 Wheeling Ave, Glen Dale, WV 26038-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Glen Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Dale
Price Range: £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant romantic Victorian B&B invites you to indulge in quiet comfort and style. Relax to the music of the electric grand piano or share some quiet time in the library. A candlelight gourmet breakfast is served in the formal dining room on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Breakfast offerings are extended continental Monday-Friday morning. Check in times are flexible. Weekly/corporate rates available. Near Wheeling WV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing