We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty silverware”
Review of Gourmet Express

Gourmet Express
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Grafton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty silverware”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stopped here on advice of friends. I ordered lasagna, my wife ordered a penne pasta dish. Our salads came, and I opened my napkin with the silverware in it. The silverware was DIRTY. I had to wait awhile for a staff member to come up the steps.I asked for clean silverware. She brought me new silverware, and it was also dirty! We should have left then,but didn't. Lets just say that Italian food is not their strong suit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely Eat Here if in Grafton!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This restaurant has GREAT food for a GREAT price. I've never eaten anything bad here. It is always busy though, so you may have a bit of a wait, but it's well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMcDougal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Love Gourmet Express”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I eat here quite often for lunch as it's just down the street from my office. Extensive menu, great soups, salads, sandwiches, hoagies. They make the best grilled chicken and cranberry salad around. Large portions. Convenient location on US50 going down into Bridgeport. Clean, friendly waitresses. Casual lunch dining at it's finest.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcgervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
“Happy surprise in Grafton”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great food, friendly staff -- NO Steps to the main dining room -- my Mom uses a walker.

Yesterday (Sunday) they had a GREAT fresh seafood platter. Usually in WV, I would say 'fresh????' (seafood) and wouldn't believe them. (I live in Melbourne, Australia, so know about good, fresh seafood.) But we had the seafood platter & it was really good. Not sure if that was a regular special on Sunday afternoons? Mom is a small eater -- so we shared the seafood platter and the WONDERFUL apple bread pudding. There was even REAL butter for the bread sticks.

From Morgantown, you could also drive there via Grafton Road (119 South) , then take Rt 50 West to Clarksburg (you could visit National Cemetery -- it's easy to drive thru & looks nice) & come back via I-79 -- so a round trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dzinndzinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best Italian Food and Reasonably Priced!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I've eaten at the Gourmet Express many times and the food, service and atmosphere are excellent, offering the best Italian cuisine in North Central WV as well as American dishes, WELL worth the trip. I have dined in many 5 star restaurants as my waistline will confirm and this is right there with the best (and I'm not easy to please). The atmosphere is very nice; the warm and relaxing decor was well designed. My only complaint is that everything is so good i can't decide what to order :) The Alfredo Sauce is hands down the best in my book and the lasagne is great. The ribs fall off the bone with a tangy sauce that doesn't overpower but compliments the ribs. Nice array of desserts and choices for the kids.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricB5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Express also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing