We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD IN WEST VIRGINIA”

Helvetia Hutte Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Helvetia
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN WEST VIRGINIA”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have been going to Helvetia for 25 years. We stay at the Beekeeper Inn and eat our meals at the Hutte Restaurant, which is across the Bucannon River from the Inn. The food is fresh, and delicious. The service is exceptional. If you can't stay very long, at least make it for the Sunday brunch, which includes every item on the menu plus a few extras. Oh, gas up your car before you head there and don't plan on using your cell phone. You'll love it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville,NC
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Two Lane Gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Located deep in the mountains of WV, The Hutte is a truly unique dining experience. No fancy city vibe in this little yellow house packed with local history. Just Swiss country cookin' served with genuine WV hospitality. If you're looking for home cooked food and atmosphere to spare, Helevtia and The Hutte can't be beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank szphllps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delight in the Hills of West Virginia”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you can find it, The Hutte is well-worth the drive. I have been there before and met people who had driven from Baltimore and Pittsburgh just for the brunch. This is about as old fashioned as you can get--I never thought of the Swiss as being such great hosts but this little town, still clinging to its Swiss roots, makes a strong case for the whole country! Everything is home made and served with love, that's all you can say. If you have a chance to get their sampler, consider getting an extra for the road! It's a great drive in the spring and fall!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TSKWVU70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a treat to be in the WVa hills. Stay at an original house ( bed and breakfast). The meals, history, hospitality was wonderful. No cell phone service, nice to be in another world for a couple of days. The performance at the festival was very enjoyable with German songs, yodaling and traditional polka dance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anitta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My family and I stopped at the Hutte in Helvetia this afternoon between Cass Scenic Railroad and the WV Wildlife Center. What an experience! The service, atmosphere, and food are top notch. We have two young, picky children and they enjoyed the food and flavors as much as the adults! The homemade sausage, bread, and cheese are out of this world and the fruit plate was beautiful and very fresh. We will be back! I can't wait to try the Sunday supper!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mblake85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Helvetia Hutte Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing