We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful food, horrible service, Great view”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hinton
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorktown, Va
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful food, horrible service, Great view”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

While on our way to the falls my son wanted to stop at DQ. We ordered some burgers, a chicken wrap, fries, & onion rings. The food was so greasy! It seemed like the oil wasn't hot enough. We stayed for about an hour to watch the river go by and enjoyed the ice cream. I highly recommend buying some ice-cream and enjoying the river and the view of the dam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot Dog Heaven”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been going here since I was a child. It still has the best hot dogs I have ever had. They still taste like they did 30 yrs ago. I recommend you stop by and have one. Get some fries and a sundae while you there. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Busy location, but worth the wait”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It seems slow times are rare at this DQ, and for good reason! The variety of meals offered by this Dairy Queen is a nice surprise. The hotdogs are so good, their sign used to read "Home of those delicious hotdogs". I tried their cheeseburger this go around and was pleasantly surprised at how perfectly cooked the burger was. The lettuce and tomato were also incredibly fresh and really tasty. The fries were hot each time we placed an order too. And of course, the ice cream is worth the wait alone. If you ever find yourself traveling through Summers County in Hinton, West Virginia, be sure to check out this quaint place that overlooks the New River. The peaceful scenery and good food will bring you back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max Meadows, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotdogs and burgers”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This isn't your by the side of the interstate DQ. Great spot for cheeseburgers and hotdogs. The view is great, right beside the river. The dowside is its a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. Higher quality food than a normal DQ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brez1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your Ordinary DQ”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A DQ with a View! It is situated directly on the banks of the New River, across from Hinton. The seating is very clean and inviting with huge glass windows to enjoy the sites of the river and large island. Watch closely and you may see dear on the island, mallard ducks and geese swimming on the water. The restaurant has you typical selections of fast food, but also many home-style meal choices, including breakfast. Of course, they have all of the normal DQ ice creams, etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lkmeador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dairy Queen also viewed

 

Been to Dairy Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing