We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Huntington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Union, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The first impression of any hotel is the front desk. The people behind the counter couldn't have been more helpful. My husband and I were traveling with anohter person, we requested king beds, one with refrigerator and microwave the other without. When we got to the hotel we decided we did not need the frig and microwave. They were very accommodating and made sure our rooms were next to each other. We needed directions to Marshall University and they gave us a map and showed us how to get there. Very friendly in the morning at check out as well. We would stay here again when we are in the area.
The only thing negative was the fan in our bathroom was rather loud. I asked our other person about her fan and she said it was not loud at all. Probably going bad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for you review. I'm glad that we were able to take care of your needs on your trip. I will have my maintenance man check the fan in the bathroom and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again on your next trip in to town. Thanks again for your business and the positive review.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    101
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
90
78
50
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

HUGE sign at the entrance that says they are trip advisor #1, not really. If you can get beyond the the smell of stale smoke it's ok. Front desk lady was a bit less than pleasant. The old tube tv's were a bit much. The rooms were clean however the building is dirty and dated. For less $ I would recommend, not for what I paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim60142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your response. I'm very sorry you did not have a great experience. After more than 2 years at number one, we did fall to number two in the ratings. We use the banner to help direct people to the inn and wanted to make sure we didn't go back to number one before we took it down, since the new number one still has 40 less reviews than we do. I will most definitely address your issues that you had during your stay with my staff. They love to get feedback and will certainly improve in the areas you mentioned. Thanks again for yor review.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We checked tripadvisor which said this was #2 on the list. The banner out front proclaims #1 on tripadvisor. I was seriously shocked at how basic! The people are friendly, the rooms clean...In order to have a coffeemaker or anything else you need to pay additional money.(No hairdryer,conditioner, hand cream,coffee or even a closet in the room). The BEST part of the room was the GREATEST shower pressure I have ever exerienced!!! I would stay again, but felt deceived by the #2 rating...you do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
I'm sorry if you felt deceived by the trip advisor rating. Trip Advisor rates based on experience, not ammenities offered. We offer a clean comfortable room with friendly customer service. We are an economy hotel without a lot of ammenities to keep costs down. I'm glad you did notice our cleanliness, service and water pressure. My staff does work very hard to provide a great experience for every guest. Thank you for your response.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

As budget motels go, this Red Roof Inn is really pretty decent. Room was clean and looked recently remodeled with fresh paint, new carpet and curtains. The bed was a little mushy, but overall comfortable. Couldn't beat the price! Though the scratchy towels do remind you of your savings...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your response. I agree that we represent a very good value for lodging accomodations. I wanted to also mention that we will be getting more new mattresses over the
next year. Thank you again for your business.

Jon Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Overall, this Red Roof Inn is very good, indeed. This Red Roof Inn is what Holiday Inns used to be when I was growning up. No frills, just a clean room for the night.

It's in an excellent location for jumping off to downtown Huntington, or zipping off to the state capitol on business. Finding the road to get into the property, is another matter. I cut through the Days Inn parking lot on my arrival there, simply because the road isn't marked well at all. I think in an answer to a previous commenter, management said the reason was because of a local zoning ordnance. Not exactly the way to encourage business or tourism travel, guys!

Check-in was straightforward, no hassles. This is an older property with outside doors, and what looked like a sizable contingent of contractors or construction workers were staying there during my visit as well. I was in a king room with refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. The rug had one dirty spot, but as it looked like management tried to clean it and failed, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. Other than that, the room was well kept-up, and the bathroom was spotless. $1.50 per night is charged for a room safe, but it's refunded if you don't use it.

No breakfast comes with the room, but wi-fi was available. This property is a throwback to simpler days of travel. The thought that comes to mind as I close this review is simple -- if this property is #1 or #2, what are the other places in Huntington like? Even with those reservations about this property, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_Damon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thanks for your very detailed review. We are planning to get all new flooring in our rooms in the next year and to update the softgoods as periodically needs to be done. I think you sum up Red Roof pretty well, clean, comfortable, and friendly. A straightforward room without a lot of frills, but a very good value.

Thanks again for your business and your review.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I have for several years chosen the Red Roof Inn for it's cleanliness, the friendly service, and the locale. I have stayed there through family reunions, school reunions, and several family funerals. it is just convient for my every need. I will be looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter, and I recommend non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thanks for you great review. We appreciate our many long time guests like yourself and look forward to seeing you on your next stay. Thanks again and I will pass on your comments to my staff.

Jon Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Red Roof Inn in Huntington, WV this past weekend. Upon arrival we found the staff to be courteous and pleasant, our room clean and comfortable with all the amenities as advertised. Our request for fresh towels was honored immediately.
We have stayed here many times before and havenever had an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all areas of this facility and have found no difference in the rooms or environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them on to my staff. We appreciate your business over the years and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington hotels
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
3.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#5 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Huntington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#7 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Huntington

Property: Red Roof Inn Huntington
Address: 5190 US Rte 60 East, Huntington, WV 25705
Region: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Huntington 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-64 near Huntington Mall, Marshall University, and St. Mary’s Hospital, this Red Roof is also just 6 miles from Pullman Square, Cabell Huntington Hospital, and Huntington Civic Center, and less than a 20 minute drive to Blenko Glass and Camden Park. The friendly staff at this location know how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. NEW! Ask about our New River Train Ride packages—they aren’t till fall, but this package will book up quickly! For more information, just call us here at the property. Our friendly team members look forward to providing directions to area attractions. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV. Select rooms offer microwave/microfridge units. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Red Roof Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing