We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huntington Day's Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Huntington
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This place does not rate a price of $80 or even $70. I would put this motel at the Motel 6 price level. Yes it has fridge and microwave, Motel 6 does not, and it has a continental breakfast, which I will check out tomorrow but other than that it is not really worth stopping here.

There was very short supply of rooms available because the cleaning crew was 2 short today. This place appears to be home to many work crews including CSX rail so I'm not sure the motel owners are really interested in making anything better for the normal traveling public.

The room we had was clean but it had a slight unpleasant odor. And don't even think about turning on the A/C or heat unit. The air coming out had a terrible odor that gave us quite concern of contacting some kind of unwanted bug.

After getting settled in the room we then found we were freezing and upon checking the door we found it had gap big enough to let considerable amount of air in. If i could have found my duct tape I would have taped the door shut but plastic bags stuffed in the crack seem to suffice in reducing the air flow.

It is so difficult too find a decent room these days. So many motels are feeling unworried when they have a boat load of construction workers or out of town contract workers coming week after week that they forget about the traveling public whom they probably charge a much higher room rate than the contract rate these workers are paying. And in the end the motel cleanliness and attraction continue to go downward.

We will have to put this motel on our no list the next time we come through this area.

Too bad, it's nice to stay in the Huntington area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tumbleweed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice enough place. Rooms older but OK Had no noise problem This area is having train tracks replaced and all hotels are almost full. This one has plenty of restaurants with in walking distance for sure. Cable channels at night are not kid friendly so much. Not bad but no Nickelodeon or the like after 10. Cartoons yes, but not for kids.

Room Tip: Many rooms at this place. Maybe something on the back side for noise but it really wasn't a fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whalehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The people at the front dest were rude. The room was not that clean and the bathroom even dirtier. There was hot water in the sink, but none in the shower/bath tub. Breakfast was very poor. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I will be honest, I really don't like to even try Day's Inns. Even though these are a part of Wyndam Hotels most are not good and I thing Wyndam should move on from this franchise! But we were driving late and very tired. so...we stopped at this hotel. Really bad move. First the pictures make it look SO much better than reality! The room we got was nice enough until I saw silverfish running on the walls. ICK! I went to the front desk and told them, they did move us after explaining that they were having this problem in all the downstairs rooms. ORKIN?? TERMINEX?? Any pest control company???? I was so grossed out! By this time is was really late and my husband was exhausted from driving about 9 hours that day, so we stayed. I do not recommed this place to anyone! Pass this by and count your blessings!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pattypoo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

our first vaction in 35 years.we picked this hotel based on location.room smelled .cobwebs.weather stripping off door.furniture old and bad shape.carpet stained and dirty.hole punched in ceiling.water stains on ceiling.door jam busted and pieced back together.they need to close this room and fix it.we could have moved but after 13hr drive we just wanted a shower and sleep.DONT STAY HERE

Room Tip: ask to see room if staying here before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sidewinder1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Everyone deserves a second chance, so the saying goes. Sometimes that is done to your peril. That was the case here.

Based on past experiences with Days Inns, I called the morning of our (planned late) arrival to ensure that we got a ground floor room, preferably handicapped accessible, but ground floor was absolutely essential. That was specified on the internet reservation made months before, and the clerk said Sure, no problem, but got quarrelsome about a handicapped room. Not a good sign.

So of course, when we showed up late at night at the start of a holiday weekend, we were given keys to a second floor room. I showed the non-English speaking clerk a copy of the reservation and mentioned the phone conversation of that very morning. They refused to budge - apparently they wanted all the guests in one building to make it easier on their too-few housekeeping staff. Things could have gotten very ugly, with the clerk yelling and whatnot, but apparently one of the owners called down to the desk to ask what the racket was about and the clerk was told to give us what we wanted just to shut us up.

The place has supposedly been updated at Days Inn's behest, but it appears the updating consisted mostly of one thin coat of paint. Same worn out carpeting and bedding as the last time, but one of the mattresses in our room appeared to be newer. The room was not dirty, but neither was it what I would call clean. There was a refrigerator and microwave, stacked one on top of the other on the floor in a corner of the bathroom area, very difficult to get at and use. Internet, as others have mentioned, was spotty at best.

The breakfast was, in a word, grudgingly provided and nothing to raise any flags over. The whole premise seems to be to do the absolute bare minimum to avoid losing their Days Inn franchise. Case in point, even though it was a holiday weekend, the pool was not filled up until Sunday. And of course the heater was still broken, so the water was just a tad icy. But at least they filled it up.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weary Travellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

They do not clean the place. The carpet is filthy and there dirt all along the perimeter of the room. If you move the night stands it's just filthy. The sink leaks and it was difficult to get the bath to stop dripping. Internet doesn't work.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Huntington
82 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Huntington Mall Inn
4 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#4 of 12 in Huntington
490 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Huntington
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Huntington

Address: 5196 US Route 60, I-64 Exit 15, Huntington, WV 25705-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: £40 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Huntington 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing