We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, clean, convinient, goos services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntington
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good location, clean, convinient, goos services”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

this hotel is good localisation in Huntington WV, close to the university, close to all down town bars, restaurants, clean, good room size, kind of quiet, good services. i going there for business trip. been there few time.

Room Tip: not much to say, it is a very good place when you have to stay for a business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    96
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
67
50
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Holiday Inn on Third Avenue is located in downtown Huntington, WV. It is super convenient to some great restaurants, Pullman Plaza, antique shops, Empire Books, a public library and several nice clothing stores (White House Black Market, Chico's, etc.). Downtown is so walkable! This hotel is very clean, has really comfortable beds, and the staff was very helpful in answering our many questions. The breakfasts were delicious, and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a well-located hotel in Huntington, West Virginia. We have been staying there periodically for over 2 years when we visit our son, a Marshall Student. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower. The staff is helpful, and there is a breakfast buffet that is better than most, though I usually prefer to just grab coffee at Starbucks down the street.

Huntington is definitely on an upward tick, and each time we are there we notice new additions, most of which are easy walking distance from the Holiday Inn. Pullman Plaza has a lot of shops, restaurants and a multi-screen cinema. There are occasional concerts in Harris Riverfront park, which is just around the corner from the hotel, and there are even more events at Ritter Park, about a mile away. New shops and restaurants keep appearing, and the Holiday Inn is a great place from which to explore.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th or 5th floor facing the river offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poipuvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was okay. Only two luggage carriers and the staff told us they didn't know where the carriers were located. With 3 kids, two adults and one handicapped adult, we could have used some assistance, but none was offered.
Pool area was okay for the kids, nothing special.
Skip the breakfast. It was really bad. The eggs were horrible and other food was either cold or lukewarm.
Beds were comfy, but hotel needs a facelift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Roxie5166,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you have encountered with the hotel's condition. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. We visit family in Huntington every year, and stayed at the Holiday Inn regularly for a few years. Then we switched to another hotel right down the road for several visits. This was our first visit back staying at the Holiday Inn. We were so glad we switched back!! The beds were very, very comfortable, and the shower was one of the best ones we have experienced in a hotel. Great water pressure, and so relaxing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool. Our room was clean and large. We used the frig to keep our drinks cool. We loved the table in the sitting area. We had plenty of room to charge all our electronics. The room was quiet. The only improvement was we would have preferred the room to be slightly cooler. I am very picky, and yes I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff was nice, but our room was run down. The pool area was nice for our small children. The morning breakfast was horrible! All the food was cold or poorly cooked. There are only 2 luggage carts for the entire hotel which made leaving in the morning a nightmare. It wasn't horrible, but wasn't the best.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Patricia U,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We took a short trip to Huntington with my husband while he was working there during the week. The hotel staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We checked in late on Tuesday night around midnight. We didn't have any trouble checking in that late. Our room was one with double beds and a sofa. The room was large enough for all of us. The couch was comfortable. The beds were also comfy! The room also has a fridge (no freezer) and a microwave. This allowed me to stock the fridge with lots of snacks and drinks for the week. The shower also had really strong water pressure which was relaxing after a day out sightseeing!
The only negative was that whatever they clean with or wash with was overpowering in the room. There is a fan in the room for that reason, I am guessing. My son and I had a little trouble with our asthma the first night. After we were in there for the day, we were fine.
My kids swam in the pool everyday. We also used the workout rooms.
My children forgot to pack quite a few items and the front desk was quick to supply those for us. I also needed aspirin on one evening, Scott took the time to look around before sending me out to buy some. He didn't find any, but I appreciated the effort! (btw, the bookstore over in Pullman square had some!)
My 2 HS kids and I took a tour of the Marshall campus on Thursday, while it was only about 8 blocks away, the hotel was happy to have someone drive us there with their shuttle! We just asked the front desk and were set up! That was wonderful considering my husband had to use the car for work.
Pullman square is right next door as is many other stores and places to eat. We had a great couple of days. Thanks to all the staff that helped with this!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and didn't have any issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington hotels
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
0.2 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#12 of 12 in Huntington
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
352 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
458 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#6 of 12 in Huntington
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntington

Property: Holiday Inn Huntington
Address: 800 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntington 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is conveniently located in downtown Huntington, West Virginia. It is adjacent to the Big Sandy SuperStore Arena and minutes from the campus of Marshall University. Located beside the hotel is Pullman Square which features Marquee Cinema, Funny Bone Comedy Club, Max and Erma s Restaurant, Five Guys Burgers, and many other restaurants and boutiques. The hotel also offers a full service restaurant and room service available 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 5pm to 9pm for dinner. The hotel offers a state of the art fitness center and indoor pool. All rooms are equipped with high speed wireless internet, microwave, and refrigerator. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is 12 miles from the Tri-State Airport and does offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the airport with advance reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing