We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearance of prostitution ring here; did not feel safe”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Two rooms on the lower floor on our side of the motel (no hallway here; each room door opens to the parking lot) were the site of all-night partying beginning at 9 p.m. While I can't prove it, in my opinion the women associated with these rooms appeared to be prostitutes. There were also men associated with the two rooms; they were driving the women and their off-property "guests" in and out of the parking lot in their cars. The "partiers" were not harassing motel guests, as far as I know. It was just very noisy. Car and room doors were frequently slamming all night long. Unable to sleep and feeling the situation was potentially unsafe, we loaded our stuff into the car and hastily left the motel much earlier than we wanted to at 5:30 a.m.. The office was closed at the time.

Unlike some other negative reviewers here, some of whom stayed more than a year ago, we had no beef with the condition of our room or with the front desk staff. Our only encounter with the staff was at check-in which was handled very well. Our room appeared to have been refurbished within the past year and was nicely furnished and very comfortable for the price paid. The TV, wireless Internet, and shower worked great. Yes, the neighborhood is dicey after dark especially, but if we hadn't had the issue with the "partying," I'd have given the place five stars for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped here during a thunderstorm. Easy check in, friendly staff and great rate. The exterior looks a little older, but the rooms are great, very clean and comfy. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Located next to a Walmart. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Check in was easy and the front desk person was very friendly and welcoming. The rate was good, and there was a non-smoking room available which was nice. The room was clean, had decent furnishings and a good selection of amenities - coffe bar, mini-fridge, iron and board, laundery bag if needed. Bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. Towels were a bit thin, but very clean. Located not very far from I-64 so convenient to the highway. Surroundng area is bit sketchy (Adult video store across the street), but the property seems o.k. Breakfast was a surprise - they actually had a nice selection - fresh fruit, cerals (both hot and cold), yogurt, scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, various kinds of breads, bagels, muffins, fresh juice, coffee. Just didn't expect this nice a breakfast for the price of the room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in a southside room and it was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Check-in was very quick and easy. The front desk staff "Linda" was very pleasant, helpful, and joked around, which I appreciated. The rate of the room was pretty reasonable, considering it was the weekend for graduation.

I had to get a smoking room due to the lack of availability. There was a very strong odor of smoke when I arrived in the room, so this may be an issue with someone who may have health issues. Other than that, the room and bathroom was very clean and the bed could have been a little softer, but overall, the stay was pleasant.

One note: travelers should be careful of the traffic on the main road when entering and exiting the hotel parking lot.

Room Tip: If you must take a smoking room and you are a non-smoker, you may want to bring an air purifier or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornealia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

the motel was fine--the horn blowing, people talking to loud was not a good thing, but that was rudeness of people, not the fault of management. Breakfast is a good thing. I will stay again if the need arises





  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

we visit huntington every year and compare to last couple years this place looking great with very good staff, cleanliness of rooms, breakfast and nice bed…..good going..
most important good hot water shower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've stayed here a number of times. The rooms were always clean and seemed newly renovated. It is an older motel style building with external entrances to all the rooms.
It is located in a sketchy area though. Lots of strip clubs along with the clientele they attract. Returned to my room one morning as housekeeping was leaving and found the room filled with dope smoke. Also found needles and condoms in the parking lot. The deal breaker for me was when a guy was murdered just up the street.
I stay elsewhere now when I'm in Huntington.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surly-Hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington hotels
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#4 of 12 in Huntington
483 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Huntington
Days Inn Huntington
#11 of 12 in Huntington
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#10 of 12 in Huntington
200 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
2.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#5 of 12 in Huntington
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3325 US Route 60, Huntington, WV 25705-2838 (Formerly Quality Inn Huntington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 50 Room motel with exterior corridors. We are located 1 1/2 mile from I-64 off Exit 15 in Huntington, West Virginia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntington Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing