We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think of it as stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Preston County Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kingwood B&B and Inns
Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
371 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Think of it as stepping back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This Inn reminds me of traveling in the 1950s. It is a local treasure, with a good restaurant and popular with locals. The rooms are a little primitive, but clean. They're comfortable, but not someplace you'd want to spend extra time in, almost like the second guest bedroom in your aunt's house. The public rooms are furnished with antiques, and in a few years the bedroom furnishings will qualify as antiques, too. Check out the homage to Marilyn Monroe in the well stocked bar. Staff is friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amosesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
14
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I write this a cou7ple of hours after arrival. The bed room (do not take room 23) was the smallest I have ever seen in travels all over the globe, even smaller than those in a London terrace house. A portable air conditioner is clumsily duct-taped onto a propped- open and duct-taped window, so extraneous noises are not excluded. The fan has to be run just to keep out the sound of passing cars. An unnecessarily massive fridge hogs too much of the severly limited space, if we had brought in our second suit case we would not have been able to walk round the bed (but at least the empty fridge served as case stand). The cables for the fridge, A/C unit and the TV are all hanging down the wall and across the floor in true third world fashion. Lightoing is almost non-existant, there is a fan over the bed in place of a light and there is one bedside lamp (no room for another). The only eay to read is to light the strip light over the wash basin which is next to the bed (shower in the small bath in the lavatory). .
The room is far too small to house a courtesy coffee maker so bring your own flask if you make the mistake of coming here. The advertised continental breakfast is no more than a cupboard-sized room, no tables and chairs, with a choice of pastries, cereals, and and hot drinks. Pathetic. Scandalous even. Can they not make up a nice table or two in the restaurant and come up to motel standards?
.We got an on-line 'discount' booking at 80 something dollars; the pictures on the web siite were great - how did they make the rooms look so nice? To my mind this place is vastly over-priced and any 50 dollar motel room offers a far greater degree of comfort. The appearance of the house itself is superb, and as we drove up we were thrilled. One look at the room and - oh oh!!
Downstarirs is grander, somewhat dingy but spacious and oldie-worldy. We spent no time there though, as we are reluctant to spend more money here than the too-large sum we have already paid. Had we seen the room and the breakfast facility before paying, we would have driven to a motel - any motel. So - off we go to find an eatery. What a pity to have our touring vacation spoiled in this way.

David and Marianne (from France).

Room Tip: Who wrote the glowing and misleading evaluations I found on the site? Family and friends? I am being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingwood hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

A great place to stay while visiting the Morgantown area,
The old time family atmosphere is very relaxing, right down to the porch swing &the rocking in the chairs w/ Sherbert the porch cat.
Service was great, &the the food was even better.
The lounge was cozy, &the the self serve beer fridge is a great touch.
Owners Jon & Deb did a great job keeping the 40's parlor decore as well.
The haunted 2nd floor added an exciting nice element of suprise to our stay too!!
We will for sure be back again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wreckercentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
334 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

4 single rooms and 4 small suites in typical B&B small style. NOT $250 rooms but who cares? The rooms are "sleepable and quiet". The food at the hotel is the best you will find within over 300 or more miies! Jean is a master chef trained at the Culinary Institute and his food shows it. Not much on the menue over $16.95 and I would gladly pay over $60 a plate any other place for a similar meal (IF there was such a place!). Baked salmon, australian sea bass, icelandic haddock, fresh crabmeat and shrimp pasta, lasagne, chicken dijon to die for....The salad bar is all you can eat for $6.95 with crabmeat, fish, tuna, etc. The best I have had! Service is great. This is NOT a white table cloth place with family silver etc. You would never suspect the food is as delicious as it is. Full bar with a Marilyn Monroe motif with music to match....the whole place is a great, old building where you feel at home. The outdoor patio is great to kick back and forget that there is a world out there.

I have read some of the comments from people that expect to be waited upon like they are royality. If so, they need to go to the Ritz and pay more for bad food. This is an old Inn that has some charm.....something that some of the people that wrote negative reviews NEVER had!!...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The wife and I needed a place to crash after a West Virginia football game and came upon this establishment on the web; boy are we glad we stayed at The Preston County Inn! The house is beautifully furnished with lovely items of antiquity and has a four star restuarant on the premises (Maxime's) and pub. The hosts were extremely nice and welcoming, as this place is occupied by the proprieter and his family. For a relaxing and romantic experience there is no other place than the Preston County Inn. Very clean and inviting!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegoochman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manakin sabot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed two nights; not very clean; not what we expected. It was not expensive but the cleanliness was the issue for me, and the lack of proper air conditioning. It was really hot and the AC unit we had in our room was not the best; I blew the fuses every day I was there in the entire place; I know it is old but I am used to creature comforts such as TV, hair dryer, etc. all going at the same time; the power came back on quickly, however . . . .it rained and was really muggy weather wise, so that did not help the lack of proper AC; also, a weird thing was that you could see daylight for about a half inch around the whole door? my husband is tall and the bed was really short so he had a couple of tough nights - the owner was nice but as a whole it was kind of creepy (and I am a fan of the b&b). We would not stay there again, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Not nice; dirty, small - barely had room for our luggage; bed was super small and we felt like the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

This B&B should shut down. Their advertising is deceptive, showing the decent downstairs rooms and a partial photo of a guest room. Our room was small, dingy, broken windows, plastic on windows, had not been dusted in years, and was redecorated 30 years ago. The bed was HORRIBLE. I have suffered for days with a neck ache. The room was an electrical hazard with the heating cooling unit and tv in the same outlet. If the owners cannot afford to fix this 1870s home, they should get out of the B&B business. It is truly out of a Charles Dickens novel -- DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joAnn0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingwood
15.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
18.9 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
6.4 mi away
Homestead Inn Guest House
Homestead Inn Guest House
#1 of 1 in Reedsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
10.3 mi away
Alpine Lake Resort
Alpine Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Terra Alta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
18.6 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston County Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston County Inn

Property: The Preston County Inn
Address: 112 West Main Street, Kingwood, WV 26537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Kingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston County Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn was constructed in the Civil War era by James A. Brown, an attorney and a graduate of West Virginia University. He fell in love with a beautiful girl named Isabel who was from Baltimore. They were married and the house was given to Isabel as a wedding gift from her loving husband. Highlighting the exterior decoration of the house was the roof; in large letters of light colored slate was the word "home." Through the years and change of owners, this was either removed or covered with new roofing. Much of the front part of the home has been restored to its original nature. There are a total of seven fireplaces in The Inn, three downstairs and four upstairs. The hearths and mantels have been refinished and restored to their original condition. Guest sleeping rooms were added in 1948 as a new addition to the inn. Also included in this large addition were the large kitchen and dining room. We are happy that you are here and hope you will enjoy your time with us in our historical surroundings. We will strive to make your dining a pleasure and an experience that you will long remember. In addition to our inn accommodations we also have banquet space and our very own 150-seat restaurant, Maxime's. Our first Maxime's originated in the upper Northwest corner of Washington state in the small coastal community of Stanwood. Maxime's was named after my great uncle whom I had the pleasure of growing up around. In the seven years we were open, we were voted "best restaurant" seven times along with other "best of" awards (examples of which include steak, seafood, ambiance, lunch dinner and outdoor dining). Our goal at Maxime's is to provide quality culinary entrees with excellent service at a reasonable price. We felt that the inn would provide a great setting to continue the tradition we started in the Pacific Northwest. Executive Chef Jean-Manuel Guillot (a graduate of the C.I.A.) and his wife Deborah feel they can restore the inn as a place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Preston County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing